Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Measurements of the thermodynamic parameters for CO laser gas mixtures excited by pulsed electron-beam sustained discharge
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Time behavior of gas temperature in CO containing gas mixture excited in pulsed electron-beam sustained discharge (EBSD) was experimentally studied under different experimental conditions. To study time behavior of gas temperature, the fact that the gas temperature is equivalent to the rotational temperature of gas molecules was used. Rotational distribution of the excited states of CO molecule was reconstructed from measured small-signal gain dynamics on different ro-vibrational transitions. The time behavior of small-signal gain was obtained with probe low-pressure CW CO laser for ten ro-vibrational spectral lines. Gas mixtures CO:He=1 :4 and CO:N2=1:9 typical for a CO laser were used. It was demonstrated that gas temperature grew from 1 10 K (initial temperature) up ~15O K for the first hundred microsecond after EBSD beginning and was staying at this value for a long time (more than 1 ms) for both gas mixtures. EBSD pulse duration was -3Oµs. The method of reconstruction of gas temperature time history was also applied for oxygen gas mixture CO:O2=1:20 at gas pressure 0.04 atm, which was used for obtaining singlet delta oxygen in EBSD. The method can be used for diagnostic of non-equilibrium gas mixtures containing CO molecule.

Paper Details

Date Published: 23 March 2005
PDF: 4 pages
Proc. SPIE 5777, XV International Symposium on Gas Flow, Chemical Lasers, and High-Power Lasers, (23 March 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.611078
Show Author Affiliations
Leonid V. Seleznev, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Andrei A. Ionin, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Yurii M. Klimachev, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Igor V. Kochetov, Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (Russia)
Andrei A. Kotkov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
A. Yu. Kozlov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Alexander K. Kurnosov, Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (Russia)
Anatoly P. Napartovich, Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (Russia)
Dmitrii V. Sinitsyn, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
S. Vetoshkin, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5777:
XV International Symposium on Gas Flow, Chemical Lasers, and High-Power Lasers
Jarmila Kodymova, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top