Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Laser-based microprocesses using diffraction-free beams generated by diffractive axicons
Author(s): Jun Amako; Kazuto Yoshimura; Daisuke Sawaki; Tatsuya Shimoda
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Diffraction-free beams having a large depth of focus are of great merit in laser-based processes in which light-matter interaction is to occur in an extended region along the beam path. We have investigated two kinds of processes that use a diffraction-free beam known as a zero-order Bessel beam: 1) Laser-drilling metal films coated on a substrate to make pinholes therein using nanosecond laser pulses at 532 nm. Given an uneven surface of the substrate, the beam irradiation point, or the process point, would be displaced from a right position. By using the Bessel beams holes ~2 mm in diameter can be formed despite the displacement of ~2 mm or more. 2) Laser-exposing bulk glass to form modifications inside using femtosecond laser pulses at 800 nm. The pulses must be temporally stretched to save their energy from being used up because of multi-photon absorption. The Bessel pulses can modify through glasses ~3 mm thick in a width of <5 mm. We have developed a new set of formulas to calculate the Bessel fields, which are generated by diffractive optical elements. The elements are designed to convert a Gaussian beam efficiently into an approximate form of the zero-order Bessel beam and are fabricated on fused quartz by direct laser writing and reactive-ion etching.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 April 2005
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 5713, Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics IV, (12 April 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.585135
Show Author Affiliations
Jun Amako, Seiko Epson Corp. (Japan)
Kazuto Yoshimura, Seiko Epson Corp. (Japan)
Daisuke Sawaki, Seiko Epson Corp. (Japan)
Tatsuya Shimoda, Seiko Epson Corp. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5713:
Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics IV
Jim Fieret; David B. Geohegan; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Willem Hoving; Frank Träger; Peter R. Herman; Jan J. Dubowski; Tatsuo Okada; Kunihiko Washio; Yongfeng Lu; Craig B. Arnold, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top