Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Optimization of single keV ion implantation for the construction of single P-donor devices
Author(s): Changyi Yang; David N. Jamieson; Toby Hopf; Soren E. Andresen; Sean M. Hearne; Fay E. Hudson; Christopher I. Pakes; Mladen Mitic; Eric Gauja; Grigori Tamanyan; Andrew S. Dzurak; Steven Prawer; Robert G. Clark
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We report recent progress in single keV ion implantation and online detection for the controlled implantation of single donors in silicon. When integrated with silicon nanofabrication technology this forms the “top down” strategy for the construction of prototype solid state quantum computer devices based on phosphorus donors in silicon. We have developed a method of single ion implantation and online registration that employs detector electrodes adjacent to the area into which the donors are to be implanted. The implantation sites are positioned with nanometer accuracy using an electron beam lithography patterned PMMA mask. Control of the implantation depth of 20 nm is achieved by tuning the phosphorus ion energy to 14 keV. The counting of single ion implantation in each site is achieved by the detection of e-/h+ pairs produced by the implanted phosphorus ion in the substrate. The system is calibrated by use of Mn K-line x-rays (5.9 and 6.4 keV) and we find the ionization energy of the 14 keV phosphorus ions in silicon to be about 3.5-4.0 keV for implants through a 5 nm SiO2 surface layer. This paper describes the development of an improved PIN detector structure that provides more reliable performance of the earlier MOS structure. With the new structure, the energy noise threshold has been minimized to 1 keV or less. Unambiguous detection/counting of single keV ion implantation events were achieved with a confidence level greater than 98% with a reliable and reproducible fabrication process.

Paper Details

Date Published: 23 February 2005
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5650, Micro- and Nanotechnology: Materials, Processes, Packaging, and Systems II, (23 February 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.582208
Show Author Affiliations
Changyi Yang, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
David N. Jamieson, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Toby Hopf, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Soren E. Andresen, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Sean M. Hearne, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Fay E. Hudson, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Christopher I. Pakes, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Mladen Mitic, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Eric Gauja, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Grigori Tamanyan, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Andrew S. Dzurak, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Steven Prawer, Univ. of Melbourne (Australia)
Robert G. Clark, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5650:
Micro- and Nanotechnology: Materials, Processes, Packaging, and Systems II
Jung-Chih Chiao; David N. Jamieson; Lorenzo Faraone; Andrew S. Dzurak, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top