Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Status of ACIGA High Power Test Facility for advanced interferometry
Author(s): Pablo J. Barriga; Mark Barton; David G. Blair; Aidan Brooks; Ron Burman; Raymond Burston; Eu-Jeen Chin; Jong Chow; David Coward; Benedict Cusack; Glen de Vine; Jerome Degallaix; Jean Charles Dumas; Mikael Feat; Slawomir Gras; Malcolm B. Gray; Murray Wayne Hamilton; David Hosken; Eric Howell; John S. Jacob; Li Ju; Thu-Lan Kelly; Ben H. Lee; Chuen Y. Lee; Kah T. Lee; Antony Lun; David E. McClelland; Kirk McKenzie; Conor Mow-Lowry; Andrew Moylan; Damien Mudge; Jesper Munch; David Rabeling; David H. Reitze; Albert Romann; Sascha Schediwy; Susan M. Scott; Anthony S. Searle; Benjamin S. Sheard; Bram J.J. Slagmolen; Peter J. Veitch; John Winterflood; Andrew Woolley; Zewu Yan; Chunnong Zhao
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Australian Consortium for Gravitational Astronomy has built a High Optical Power Test Facility north of Perth, Western Australia. Current experiments in collaboration with LIGO are testing thermal lensing compensation, and suspension control on an 80m baseline suspended optical cavity. Future experiments will test radiation pressure instabilities and optical spring in a high power optical cavity with ~200kW circulating power. Once issues of operation and control have been resolved, the facility will go on to assess the noise performance of the high optical power technology through operation of an advanced interferometer with sapphire tests masses, and high performance suspension and isolation systems. The facility combines research and development undertaken by all consortium members, which latest results are presented.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 September 2004
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 5500, Gravitational Wave and Particle Astrophysics Detectors, (29 September 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.581300
Show Author Affiliations
Pablo J. Barriga, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Mark Barton, LIGO Lab./California Institute of Technology (United States)
David G. Blair, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Aidan Brooks, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Ron Burman, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Raymond Burston, Monash Univ. (Australia)
Eu-Jeen Chin, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Jong Chow, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
David Coward, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Benedict Cusack, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Glen de Vine, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Jerome Degallaix, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Jean Charles Dumas, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Mikael Feat, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Slawomir Gras, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Malcolm B. Gray, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Murray Wayne Hamilton, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
David Hosken, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Eric Howell, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
John S. Jacob, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Li Ju, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Thu-Lan Kelly, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Ben H. Lee, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Chuen Y. Lee, Edith Cowan Univ. (Australia)
Kah T. Lee, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Antony Lun, Monash Univ. (Australia)
David E. McClelland, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Kirk McKenzie, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Conor Mow-Lowry, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Andrew Moylan, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Damien Mudge, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
Jesper Munch, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
David Rabeling, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
David H. Reitze, Univ. of Florida (United States)
Albert Romann, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Sascha Schediwy, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Susan M. Scott, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Anthony S. Searle, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Benjamin S. Sheard, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Bram J.J. Slagmolen, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Peter J. Veitch, Univ. of Adelaide (Australia)
John Winterflood, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Andrew Woolley, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Zewu Yan, Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Chunnong Zhao, Edith Cowan Univ. (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5500:
Gravitational Wave and Particle Astrophysics Detectors
James Hough; Gary H. Sanders, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top