Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

On the theory of temporal aberrations for electron optical imaging systems by using direct integral method
Author(s): Liwei Zhou; Yuan Li; Zhiquan Zhang; Mikhail A. Monastyrskiy; Mikhail Ya. Schelev
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

A new approach to the theory of temporal aberration for the dynamic electron optical imaging systems is given in the present paper. A new definition of temporal aberrations is given in which a certain initial energy of electron emission along the axial direction εz1(0≤εz1≤ε0max) is considered. A new method to calculate the temporal aberration coefficients of dynamic electron optical imaging system, which is named "Direct Integral Method", is also presented. All of the formulae of the temporal aberration coefficients deduced from "Direct Integral Method" and "-Variation Method" have been verified by an electrostatic concentric spherical system model, and contrasted with the analytical solutions. Results show that these two methods have got identical solution and the solutions of temporal aberration coefficients of first and second-order are the same with the analytical solutions. Thus it can be concluded these two methods given by us are equivalent and correct, but the "Direct Integral Method" is related to solve integral expressions, which is more convenient for computation and could be suggested to use in the practical design.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 March 2005
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 5580, 26th International Congress on High-Speed Photography and Photonics, (17 March 2005); doi: 10.1117/12.567688
Show Author Affiliations
Liwei Zhou, Beijing Institute of Technology (China)
Yuan Li, Beijing Institute of Technology (China)
Zhiquan Zhang, Beijing Institute of Technology (China)
Mikhail A. Monastyrskiy, A.M. Prokhorov General Physics Institute (Russia)
Mikhail Ya. Schelev, A.M. Prokhorov General Physics Institute (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5580:
26th International Congress on High-Speed Photography and Photonics
Dennis L. Paisley; Stuart Kleinfelder; Donald R. Snyder; Brian J. Thompson, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top