Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

First results from Herschel-SPIRE performance tests
Author(s): Tanya L. Lim; Bruce Miles Swinyard; Asier A. Aramburu; James J. Bock; Marc Ferlet; Douglas Griffin; Matthew J. Griffin; Peter Hargrave; Kenneth King; Sarah Leeks; David A. Naylor; Samuel D. Ronayette; Eric Sawyer; Bernhard Schulz; Sunil Sidher; Locke D. Spencer; David Smith; Adam L. Woodcraft
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Spectral and Photometric Imaging REceiver (SPIRE) is one of the three scientific instruments on the European Space Agency's Herschel mission. At the start of 2004 the Cryogenic Qualification Model (CQM) of SPIRE was tested with the aim of verifying the instrument system design and evaluating key performance parameters. We present a description of the test facility, an overview of the instrument tests carried out on the CQM, and the first results from the analysis of the test data. Instrument optical efficiency and detector noise levels are close to the values expected from unit-level tests, and the SPIRE instrument system works well, with no degradation in performance from stray light, electromagnetic interference or microphonically induced noise. Some anomalies and imperfections in the instrument performance, test set-up, and test procedures have been identified and will be addressed in the next test campaign.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 October 2004
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5487, Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Space Telescopes, (12 October 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.551684
Show Author Affiliations
Tanya L. Lim, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Bruce Miles Swinyard, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Asier A. Aramburu, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
James J. Bock, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Marc Ferlet, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Douglas Griffin, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Matthew J. Griffin, Cardiff Univ. (United Kingdom)
Peter Hargrave, Cardiff Univ. (United Kingdom)
Kenneth King, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Sarah Leeks, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)
David A. Naylor, Univ. of Lethbridge (Canada)
Samuel D. Ronayette, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Univ. of Lethbridge (Canada)
Eric Sawyer, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Bernhard Schulz, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Sunil Sidher, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Locke D. Spencer, Univ. of Lethbridge (Canada)
David Smith, Rutherford Appleton Lab. (United Kingdom)
Adam L. Woodcraft, Cardiff Univ. (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5487:
Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Space Telescopes
John C. Mather, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?