Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Prototyping of cryomechanisms for the JWST near-infrared spectrograph (NIRSpec)
Author(s): Ralph Hofferbert; Dietrich Lemke; Armin Bohm; Ulrich Grozinger; Thomas Henning; Armin Huber; Oliver Krause; Stefan Mertin; Jose Ramos; Ralf-Rainer Rohloff; Georg Luichtel; Kai Weidlich; Gilles Baudin; Winfried Posselt; Ruben Nalbandian; Peter Jensen
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

In 2011 NASA and ESA plan to launch the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) as dignified successor of the Hubble Space Telescope. Three scientific instruments will cover the wavelength regions in the near-infrared (0.6-5μm, NIRCam and NIRSpec) and in the mid-infrared (5-28μm, MIRI), respectively. The ESA-led multi-object spectrograph NIRSpec as major European contribution is presently entering the detailed design phase in a collaboration between European space industries, scientific institutes, ESA and NASA. To allow for various operational modes in the instrument’s optical train several cryo-mechanisms are required, i.e. wheels for exchanging optical elements like filters and gratings as well as linear actuators on refocusing mirrors. We will give an overview on the detailed design, the prototyping and the testing of those mechanisms comprising highest reliability in the cryo-vacuum (~ 35K) combined with minimal power dissipation (~ 5mW on average), ultimate position accuracy (~ 0.5 - 1arcsec) combined with high launch vibration capability (ARIANE 5, ~ 60g) and a very long lifetime (~ 15 years) for ground tests and space operation under various environmental conditions. To reach this goal in a low cost and risk approach we rely on the heritage from ESA's earlier infrared missions, i.e. ISO and HERSCHEL.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 September 2004
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 5495, Astronomical Structures and Mechanisms Technology, (29 September 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.550419
Show Author Affiliations
Ralph Hofferbert, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Dietrich Lemke, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Armin Bohm, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Ulrich Grozinger, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Thomas Henning, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Armin Huber, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Oliver Krause, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Stefan Mertin, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Jose Ramos, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Ralf-Rainer Rohloff, Max-Planck-Institut fur Astronomie (Germany)
Georg Luichtel, Carl Zeiss AG (Germany)
Kai Weidlich, Carl Zeiss AG (Germany)
Gilles Baudin, Alcatel Space (France)
Winfried Posselt, EADS Astrium GmbH (Germany)
Ruben Nalbandian, Moog Inc. (United States)
Peter Jensen, European Space Agency/ESTEC (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5495:
Astronomical Structures and Mechanisms Technology
Joseph Antebi; Dietrich Lemke, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?