Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Fabrication of cell structures for bionanobattery
Author(s): Sang-Hyon Chu; Sang H. Choi; Gerald D. Watt; Jae-Woo Kim; Yeonjoon Park; Robert C. Davis; John N. Harb; Glen C. King; Peter T. Lillehei
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The concept of a bio-nanobattery is based on ferritin, an iron storage protein that naturally exists in most biological systems. Biomineralization allows ferritins to reconstitute iron core with various metallic cores. When the ferritin half cells are integrated into a complete battery system, the fabrication of well-organized ferritin arrays is necessary and very important to enhance the overall battery performance, improving the battery power density, the power discharge rate, the compactness of battery size, etc. In this work, a spin self-assembly (SA) method was used for producing a thin-film array structure of ferritins. The spin SA deposition was repeated until two bilayers of cationized and native ferritins or 4 alternating ferritin layers were achieved. High-resolution field-emission scanning electron microscopy (FESEM), atomic force microscopy (AFM) and variable angle spectroscopic ellipsometry (VASE) were used to characterize the multilayered ferritin arrays. The thickness of ferritin multilayer increased linearly as the spin SA deposition was repeated. The spin SA deposition method produced well-organized, uniform, and flat ferritin layers in a much shorter period of time, compared with Langmuir-Blodgett or dipping deposition methods. Such enhancement can be attributed to a strong electrostatic attraction that holds the ferritin layer on the substrate during the spin-coating process while hydrodynamic drag and centrifugal forces remove loosely-bound ferritins.

Paper Details

Date Published: 29 July 2004
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 5389, Smart Structures and Materials 2004: Smart Electronics, MEMS, BioMEMS, and Nanotechnology, (29 July 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.539239
Show Author Affiliations
Sang-Hyon Chu, National Institute of Aerospace (United States)
Sang H. Choi, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)
Gerald D. Watt, Brigham Young Univ. (United States)
Jae-Woo Kim, Science and Technology Corp. (United States)
Yeonjoon Park, Science and Technology Corp. (United States)
Robert C. Davis, Brigham Young Univ. (United States)
John N. Harb, Brigham Young Univ. (United States)
Glen C. King, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)
Peter T. Lillehei, NASA Langley Research Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5389:
Smart Structures and Materials 2004: Smart Electronics, MEMS, BioMEMS, and Nanotechnology
Vijay K. Varadan, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?