Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Replication of microstructures in polymers using laser-fabricated glass-ceramic stamps
Author(s): Joohan Kim; Sreemanth M. Uppuluri; Xianfan Xu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Recently much research on fabrication of polymer micro structures has been carried out. One of the main advantages of using polymer in micro structure fabrication is the easiness of applying replication processes for mass production. A micro stamping process applying heat and pressure, also referred to as hot embossing lithography, can replicate micro-structures on polymer surfaces. By reforming thermoplastics, many micro features can be transferred directly to polymer surfaces. The micro stamping consists of two main steps: a stamp fabrication step and a replication step. Until now, metal or silicon stamps have been used. In this work, photo-etchable glass-ceramic micro stamps are used, which are micro-machined using an excimer laser processing technique. With the laser process, a glass-ceramic stamp can be fabricated quickly and precisely. In addition, a micro stamping device has been designed and developed for this process. Polyvinylchloride (PVC) is used as the replicating polymer because it has a low glass transition temperature (65 C) and good formability. Many micro structures such as micro channels have been produced. The advantages and the limits of using glass-ceramics stamps and stamping with the PVC material are discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 15 July 2004
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 5339, Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics III, (15 July 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.537860
Show Author Affiliations
Joohan Kim, Purdue Univ. (United States)
Sreemanth M. Uppuluri, Purdue Univ. (United States)
Xianfan Xu, Purdue Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5339:
Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics III
Jan J. Dubowski; Peter R. Herman; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Willem Hoving; Jim Fieret; David B. Geohegan; Frank Träger; Kunihiko Washio; Alberto Pique; Xianfan Xu; Tatsuo Okada, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top