Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Rinse additives for defect suppression in 193-nm and 248-nm lithogrophy
Author(s): Spyridon Skordas; Ryan L. Burns; Dario L. Goldfarb; Sean D. Burns; Marie Angelopoulos; Colin J. Brodsky; Margaret C. Lawson; Carole J. Pillette; Jeffrey J. Bright; Robert L. Isaacson; Mark E. Lagus; Vandana Vishnu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Satellite spot defects are a class of defects widely observed in photoresist processing in 248 nm and 193 nm lithography. These defects become more and more significant as the feature sizes shrink and can potentially become “killer” defects, leading to bridging between lines and/or blocking vias. Traditional potential solutions (i.e., optimization of development rinse step) have yielded improvements in the past but did not eliminate the problem. The use of water-soluble topcoat layers was shown to eliminate these defects but it imposes limitations on throughput and cost and it is incompatible with 157 nm lithography and 193 nm immersion schemes. In this work, we report the use of aqueous surfactant solutions for the suppression of defects in 248 nm and 193 nm lithography, with emphasis on satellite spot defects. Suppression of total defects by up to ~99% and practically complete elimination of satellite spot defects were achieved by use of aqueous surfactant solutions for various resists. A handful of materials that can be incorporated into rinse solution for the successful elimination of blob defects in a variety of resists were identified. It was determined that the two most important factors that enable successful defect elimination are the surfactant concentration and the extent of surfactant adsorption to specific resist systems.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 May 2004
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 5376, Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XXI, (14 May 2004); doi: 10.1117/12.537764
Show Author Affiliations
Spyridon Skordas, Univ. at Albany (United States)
Ryan L. Burns, Univ. of Texas/Austin (United States)
Dario L. Goldfarb, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (United States)
Sean D. Burns, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (United States)
Marie Angelopoulos, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Ctr. (United States)
Colin J. Brodsky, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Margaret C. Lawson, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Carole J. Pillette, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Jeffrey J. Bright, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Robert L. Isaacson, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Mark E. Lagus, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)
Vandana Vishnu, IBM Microelectronics Div. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5376:
Advances in Resist Technology and Processing XXI
John L. Sturtevant, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?