Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Skin depth theory for nonlinear-force driven block ignition laser-ICF based on anomalous picosecond terawatt laser-plasma interaction
Author(s): Heinrich Hora; Jan Badziak; Frederick P. Boody; R. Hoepfl; Karel Jungwirth; Bozena Kralikova; Josef Krasa; Leos Laska; Miroslav Pfeifer; Karel Rohlena; Piotr Parys; Jiri Skala; Jiri Ullschmied; Jerzy Wolowski; Eugeniusz Woryna
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The experiment of Badziak et al has shown that irradiation of copper by 1.5 ps laser pulses produced 50 times lower maximum ion energies than the 22 MeV expected after relativistic self focusing from laser pulses of about ns duration. This discrepancy was confirmed in the following reported experiments specifically designed for this clarification, where MeV Au+30 maximum ion energies needed 400 times higher intensity with ps pulses than with 0.5 ns pulses. Comparing the theory for generating the fastest ions by relativistic self focusing and of the second fastest group by a quiver-collision model, we arrived at the conclusion that the mentioned ps-TW-generated ions are not following these usual theories but that a skin depth model with exclusion of relativistic self focusing explains the experiments. The essential importance is the suppression of the prepulse. We conclude how the experiment by Norreys et al. with the highest ever reported fusion gains may be increased to fusion reactor conditions if our results of prepulse control and suppression of relativistic self focusing would be applied following our skin layer interaction model. This extends the fast ignitor to the nonlinear-force block ignition without plasma precompression.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 December 2003
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 5228, ECLIM 2002: 27th European Conference on Laser Interaction with Matter, (12 December 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.536769
Show Author Affiliations
Heinrich Hora, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Jan Badziak, Inst. of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion (Poland)
Frederick P. Boody, Ion Light Technologies GmbH (Germany)
R. Hoepfl, Univ. of Applied Sciences (Czech Republic)
Karel Jungwirth, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Bozena Kralikova, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Josef Krasa, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Leos Laska, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Miroslav Pfeifer, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Karel Rohlena, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Piotr Parys, Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion (Poland)
Jiri Skala, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Jiri Ullschmied, Institute of Physics (Czech Republic)
Jerzy Wolowski, Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion (Poland)
Eugeniusz Woryna, Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microfusion (Poland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5228:
ECLIM 2002: 27th European Conference on Laser Interaction with Matter
Oleg N. Krokhin; Sergey Yu. Gus'kov; Yury A. Merkul'ev, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top