Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Study of high-power GaAs-based laser diodes operation and failure by cross-sectional electrostatic force microscopy
Author(s): A. Ankudinov; A. N. Titkov; Vadim P. Evtikhiev; Eugeny Yu. Kotelnikov; N. Bazhenov; Georgy G. Zegrya; H. Huhtinen; R. Laiho
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

One of the important factors that restricts the power limit of semiconductor lasers is a catastrophic optical mirror damage. This process is significantly suppressed through decreasing the optical power density due to its redistribution over the broad transverse waveguide (BW). Recently it was shown that record-breaking values of the quasicontinuous and continuous-wave (QWC and CW) output power for 100-μm-wide-aperture devices can be achieved by incorporating a broad transverse waveguide into 0.97 μm emitting Al-free InGaAs(P)/InGaP/GaAs and Al-containing InGaAs/AlGaAs/GaAs separate confinement heterostructure quantum-well lasers (SCH-QWL). Another important factor limiting the CW output power is the Joule overheating of a laser diode due to an extra serial resistance. Traditionally, a decrease in the resistance is achieved by development of the contacts, whereas a voltage distribution across the device structure is not analyzed properly. At high operating currents the applied voltage can drop not only across the n-p-junction, but also at certain additional regions of the laser structure depending on a particular design of the device. Electrostatic force microscopy (EFM) provides a very promising method to study the voltage distribution across an operating device with a nanometer space resolution. An application of EFM for diagnostics of III-V laser diodes without and under applied biases have been recently demonstrated. However, the most interesting range of the biases, the lazing regime, has not been studied yet.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 June 2003
PDF: 3 pages
Proc. SPIE 5023, 10th International Symposium on Nanostructures: Physics and Technology, (11 June 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.511837
Show Author Affiliations
A. Ankudinov, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
A. N. Titkov, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Vadim P. Evtikhiev, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Eugeny Yu. Kotelnikov, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
N. Bazhenov, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
Georgy G. Zegrya, A.F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute (Russia)
H. Huhtinen, Turku Univ. (Finland)
R. Laiho, Turku Univ. (Finland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 5023:
10th International Symposium on Nanostructures: Physics and Technology
Zhores I. Alferov; Leo Esaki, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top