Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Synthesis of multifunctional single-wall carbon nanotube-amorphous diamond thin film composites
Author(s): David B. Geohegan; C. Henrik Schittenhelm; Alexander A. Puretzky; M. J. Lance; Gerald E. Jellison Jr.; Philip F. Britt
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The first thin-film single-wall carbon nanotube (SWNT) composites synthesized by pulsed laser deposition (PLD) are reported. Ultrahard, transparent, pure-carbon, electrically-insulating, amorphous diamond thin films were deposited by PLD as scratch-resistant, encapsulating matrices for disperse, electrically conductive mats of SWNT bundles. In situ resistance measurements of the mats during PLD, as well as ex situ Raman spectroscopy, I-V measurements, spectroscopic ellipsometry, and field emission scanning electron microscopy, are used to understand the interaction between the SWNT and the highly energetic (approximately 100 eV) carbon species responsible for the formation of the amorphous diamond thin film. The results indicate that a large fraction of SWNT within the bundles survive the energetic bombardment from the PLD plume, preserving the metallic behavior of the interconnected nanotube mat, although with higher resistance. Amorphous diamond film thicknesses of only 50 nm protect the SWNT against wear, providing scratch hardness up to 25 GPa in an optically transmissive, all-carbon thin film composite.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 October 2003
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4977, Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics II, (17 October 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.483866
Show Author Affiliations
David B. Geohegan, Oak Ridge National Lab. (United States)
C. Henrik Schittenhelm, Robert Bosch GmbH (Germany)
Alexander A. Puretzky, Univ. of Tennessee (United States)
M. J. Lance, Oak Ridge National Lab. (United States)
Gerald E. Jellison Jr., Oak Ridge National Lab. (United States)
Philip F. Britt, Oak Ridge National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4977:
Photon Processing in Microelectronics and Photonics II
Alberto Piqué; David B. Geohegan; Friedrich G. Bachmann; Koji Sugioka; Frank Träger; Jan J. Dubowski; Peter R. Herman; Willem Hoving; Kouichi Murakami; Kunihiko Washio; Jim Fieret, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?