Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

1.3-um InGaAs(N)/GaAs vertical-cavity lasers
Author(s): Sebastian Mogg D.V.M.; Petrus Sundgren; Carl Asplund; Mattias Hammar; Ulf Christiansson; Thomas Aggerstam; Vilhelm Oscarsson; Christine Runnstrom; Elsy Odling; Jessica Malmquist
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

In this work we present performance characteristics of metalorganic vapor-plase epitaxy grown GaInNAs and InGaAs quantum-well (QW) vertical-cavity lasers (VCLs) for 1.3-μm applications. The InGaAs VCLs emit in a wavelength range from 1200 to somewhat above 1260 nm, while the GaInNAs VCLs operate from 1264 to 1303 nm. The InGaAs VCLs are based on highly strained InGaAs double QWs, with photoluminescence (PL) maximum around 1190 nm, and extensive negative gain-cavity detuning. As a consequence, these devices are strongly temperature sensitive and the minimum threshold current is found at very high temperature (~90-100°C). Both kind of VCLs work continuous-wave well above 100°C, and while the InGaAs VCLs reach slightly higher light output power, they show significantly larger threshold currents. In addition, the large device detuning also has profound effects on the high-frequency response. Nevertheless, for a 1260-nm device, 10 Gb/s transmission is demonstrated in a back-to-back configuration. We also show that by further optimization of the InGaAs QWs the PL peak wavelength can be extended to at least 1240 nm. The incorporation of such QWs in the present VCL structure should considerably improve the device performance, resulting in higher light output power, lower threshold current, and reduced temperature sensitivity with a shift of the minimum threshold current towards room temperature, thus approaching standard VCL tuning.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 June 2003
PDF: 13 pages
Proc. SPIE 4994, Vertical-Cavity Surface-Emitting Lasers VII, (17 June 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.482854
Show Author Affiliations
Sebastian Mogg D.V.M., Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Petrus Sundgren, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Carl Asplund, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Mattias Hammar, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden)
Ulf Christiansson, Zarlink Semiconductor AB (Sweden)
Thomas Aggerstam, Zarlink Semiconductor AB (Sweden)
Vilhelm Oscarsson, Zarlink Semiconductor AB (Sweden)
Christine Runnstrom, Zarlink Semiconductor AB (Sweden)
Elsy Odling, Zarlink Semiconductor AB (Sweden)
Jessica Malmquist, Zarlink Semiconductor AB (Sweden)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4994:
Vertical-Cavity Surface-Emitting Lasers VII
Chun Lei; Sean P. Kilcoyne, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?