Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Using fluoresence spectra to distinguish between microalgae species
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Spectral characteristics based on in-vivo fluorescence measurements were taken of five laboratory uni-algal cultures: Isochrysis galbana, Nannochloris atomus, Tetraselmis chui, Tetraselmis pseuicia and Tetraselmis seucica. Two diffrent techniques for fluorescence measurements have been used to detection of fluorescence of marine algae. The techniqeus used were Confocal Microscope LSM 510 and LabRam 1B Spectroscopic Microscope. Both instruments were able to detect the in vivo fluroescence signal of all uni-algal cultures. Different excitation wavelengths have been used. The excitation wavelength of 488 nm produced the fluorescence signal with highest intensity. Confocal fluorescence microscopy shows that the samples are spectrally uniform from cell to cell. This result suggests that fluorescence measurements can be used for identification of algal species. Raman spectroscopy is employed to identify differences in molecular structure between the samples. Chlorophyll fluorescence of different species shows a change. As fluorescence is directly linked to the physiological state of the photosynthetic system and very sensitive to stress being experienced further research in the direction of fluorescence detection of toxic algae species will be of interest.

Paper Details

Date Published: 27 August 2003
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 4876, Opto-Ireland 2002: Optics and Photonics Technologies and Applications, (27 August 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.463997
Show Author Affiliations
Emilia Mihaylova, Dublin Institute of Technology (Ireland)
Fiona M. Lyng, Dublin Institute of Technology (Ireland)
Hugh James Byrne, Dublin Institute of Technology (Ireland)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4876:
Opto-Ireland 2002: Optics and Photonics Technologies and Applications
Vincent Toal; Norman Douglas McMillan; Gerard M. O'Connor; Eon O'Mongain; Austin F. Duke; John F. Donegan; James A. McLaughlin; Brian D. MacCraith; Werner J. Blau, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top