Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Terahertz-frequency receiver instrumentation for Herschel's heterodyne instrument for far infrared (HIFI)
Author(s): John C. Pearson; Imran Mehdi; Erich Schlecht; Frank Maiwald; Alain Maestrini; John J. Gill; Suzanne C. Martin; Dave Pukala; J. Ward; Jonathan Kawamura; William R. McGrath; William Hatch; Dennis G. Harding; Henry G. LeDuc; Jeffry A. Stern; Bruce Bumble; Lorene A. Samoska; Todd C. Gaier; Robert Ferber; David Miller; Alexandre Karpov; Jonas Zmuidzinas; Thomas G. Phillips; Neal R. Erickson; Jerry Swift; Yun Chung; Richard Lai; Huei Wang
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Heterodyne Instrument for Far Infrared (HIFI) on ESA's Herschel Space Observatory is comprised of five SIS receiver channels covering 480-1250 GHz and two HEB receiver channels covering 1410-1910 GHz. Two fixed tuned local oscillator sub-bands are derived from a common synthesizer to provide the front-end frequency coverage for each channel. The local oscillator unti will be passively cooled while the focal plane unit is cooled by superfluid helium and cold helium vapors. HIFI employs W-band GaAs amplifiers, InP HEMT low noise IF amplifiers, fixed tuned broadband planar diode multipliers, and novel material systems in the SIS mixtures. The National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Jet Propulsion Laboratory is managing the development of the highest frequency (1119-1250 GHz) SIS mixers, the highest frequency (1650-1910 GHz) HEB mixers, local oscillators for the three highest frequency receivers as well as W-band power amplifiers, varactor diode devices for all high frequency multipliers and InP HEMT components for all the receiver channels intermediate frequency amplifiers. The NASA developed components represent a significant advancement in the available performance. The current state of the art for each of these devices is presented along with a programmatic view of the development effort.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 March 2003
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4850, IR Space Telescopes and Instruments, (5 March 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.461757
Show Author Affiliations
John C. Pearson, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Imran Mehdi, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Erich Schlecht, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Frank Maiwald, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Alain Maestrini, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
John J. Gill, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Suzanne C. Martin, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Dave Pukala, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
J. Ward, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jonathan Kawamura, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
William R. McGrath, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
William Hatch, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Dennis G. Harding, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Henry G. LeDuc, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jeffry A. Stern, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Bruce Bumble, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Lorene A. Samoska, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Todd C. Gaier, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Robert Ferber, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
David Miller, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Alexandre Karpov, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Jonas Zmuidzinas, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Thomas G. Phillips, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Neal R. Erickson, Univ. of Massachusetts/Amherst (United States)
Jerry Swift, TRW, Inc. (United States)
Yun Chung, TRW, Inc. (United States)
Richard Lai, TRW, Inc. (United States)
Huei Wang, National Taiwan Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4850:
IR Space Telescopes and Instruments
John C. Mather, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?