Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Development of precision hard x-ray multilayer optics with sub-arcminute performance
Author(s): Jason E. Koglin; Hubert C.M. Chen; Finn Erland Christensen; Jim Chonko; William W. Craig; Todd R. Decker; Mario A. Jimenez-Garate; Charles J. Hailey; Fiona A. Harrison; Carsten P. Jensen; Mike Sileo; David L. Windt; Haitao Yu
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

A new generation of hard X-ray telescopes using focusing optics are poised to dramatically improve the sensitivity and angular resolution at energies above 10 keV to levels that were previously unachievable by the past generation of background-limited collimated and coded-aperture instruments. Active balloon programs (HEFT, InFocus), possible Explorer-class satellites, and major X-ray observatories (Constellation-X, XEUS) using focusing optics will play a major role in future observations of a wide range of objects including young supernova remnants, active galactic nuclei, and galaxy clusters. These instruments call for grazing incidence optics coated with depth-graded multilayer films to achieve large collecting areas. To accomplish the ultimate goals of the more advanced satellite missions such as Constellation-X, lightweight and low-cost substrates with angular resolution well below an arcminute must be developed. Recent experimental results will be presented on the development of improved substrates and precision mounting techniques that yield sub-arcminute performance.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 March 2003
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 4851, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Telescopes and Instruments for Astronomy, (11 March 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.461488
Show Author Affiliations
Jason E. Koglin, Columbia Astrophysics Lab. (United States)
Hubert C.M. Chen, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Finn Erland Christensen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Jim Chonko, Columbia Astrophysics Lab. (United States)
William W. Craig, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Todd R. Decker, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Mario A. Jimenez-Garate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (United States)
Charles J. Hailey, Columbia Astrophysics Lab. (United States)
Fiona A. Harrison, California Institute of Technology (United States)
Carsten P. Jensen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Mike Sileo, Columbia Astrophysics Lab. (United States)
David L. Windt, Columbia Astrophysics Lab. (United States)
Haitao Yu, Columbia Astrophysics Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4851:
X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Telescopes and Instruments for Astronomy
Joachim E. Truemper; Harvey D. Tananbaum, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top