Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

FlyEyes: a dual CCD detector system for CFHT PUEO NUI's wavefront sensor
Author(s): Jean-Charles Cuillandre; James W. Beletic; Reinhold J. Dorn; Gerard Anthony Luppino; Sidik Isani; Nicolas Gorceix; Olivier Lai; Thomas V. Craven-Bartle; Barry E. Burke; Francois Menard
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Until now, only avalanche photodiodes (APD) have been used as the detectors in curvature wavefront sensors in astronomy. This is due to the strict requirements of very short integration time and very low readout noise. In 1999, Beletic et al. invented a new CCD design which should achieve the same performance as APDs but with higher reliability and lower cost. In addition, this CCD has higher quantum efficiency than APD modules and larger dynamic range, eliminating the need for neutral density filters on bright objects. The CCD was designed and fabricated by MIT Lincoln Laboratory in collaboration with ESO and IfA. R. Dorn extensively tested the CCD in laboratory at ESO and proved that it achieves the predicted performance. CFHT is currently implementing this CCD on PUEO, CFHT’s Adaptive Optics system, to assess its performance for the first time in real conditions on the sky for a direct comparison with the current 19 APD detector system. In this article we present the current implementation scheme and discuss the upgrade we foresee for PUEO NUI, a 104-element high-order curvature AO system envisaged to replace the current AO system at Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope.

Paper Details

Date Published: 7 February 2003
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4839, Adaptive Optical System Technologies II, (7 February 2003); doi: 10.1117/12.458830
Show Author Affiliations
Jean-Charles Cuillandre, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope Corp. (United States)
James W. Beletic, W.M. Keck Observatory (United States)
Reinhold J. Dorn, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Gerard Anthony Luppino, Institute for Astronomy/Univ. of Hawaii (United States)
Sidik Isani, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope Corp. (United States)
Nicolas Gorceix, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope Corp. (United States)
Olivier Lai, Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope Corp. (United States)
Thomas V. Craven-Bartle, European Southern Observatory (Germany)
Barry E. Burke, MIT Lincoln Lab. (United States)
Francois Menard, Observatoire de Grenoble/UJF (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4839:
Adaptive Optical System Technologies II
Peter L. Wizinowich; Domenico Bonaccini, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top