Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Large transmission 1w and 3w gratings for the LIL laser
Author(s): Jerome Neauport; Philippe Bouchut; Jean Flamand; Geraud de Villele; Yves Josserand; Francis Bonnemason; Bruno M. Touzet; Pierre Garrec; Xavier Ribeyre; Genevieve Chabassier
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

To deviate and focus of the beams of the future Laser Integration Line (LIL) and Megajoule laser (LMJ), CEA has chosen an original setup using two large 420 x 470 mm2 transmission gratings. The first grating is an holographic plano transmission master grating with straight and equispaced ruling, 25 degree(s) incidence angle and working at 1.053 micrometers . The second one is an holographic plano transmission master grating, with curved and non equispaced ruling, 25 degree(s) incidence angle which combines both focusing and deviation properties. Groove profile of both gratings is deep laminar. High damage threshold, improved wavefront quality and high efficiencies are the main issues for those two gratings. Jobin Yvon's was selected by CEA in 1999 to develop, industrialize and manufacture gratings reaching LIL/LMJ specifications. A dedicated plant and facilities were built to manufacture the gratings directly engraved into the fused silica substrates provided by CEA. After process developments, Jobin Yvon manufactured the two first 1(omega) and 3(omega) gratings in mid 2001. After a short summary of the specification of these gratings, we present in this paper the production process and the performances of the 1(omega) and 3(omega) gratings manufactured. Wavefront data, efficiency measurements and damage threshold performances are detailed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 26 December 2001
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 4438, Physics, Theory, and Applications of Periodic Structures in Optics, (26 December 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.451499
Show Author Affiliations
Jerome Neauport, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Philippe Bouchut, CEA-LETI (France)
Jean Flamand, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Geraud de Villele, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Yves Josserand, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Francis Bonnemason, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Bruno M. Touzet, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Pierre Garrec, CEA-LETI (France)
Xavier Ribeyre, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)
Genevieve Chabassier, Commissariat a l'Energie Atomique (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4438:
Physics, Theory, and Applications of Periodic Structures in Optics
Philippe Lalanne, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?