Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Broadband normal-incidence aperiodic multilayer mirrors for soft x-ray dispersive spectroscopy: theory and implementation
Author(s): Eugene N. Ragozin; Valerii V. Kondratenko; Vladimir E. Levashov; Yurii P. Pershin; Alexander S. Pirozhkov
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Aperiodic multilayer structures (MSs) show promise as broadband soft X-ray mirrors for stigmatic diffraction spectroscopic instruments. We have derived aperiodic MSs optimized for maximum uniform normal-incidence reflectivity throughout a prescribed wavelength range, e.g., 130 - 190 Å (R=24 %), 125 - 250 Å (16 %), etc. Each of these aperiodic MSs exhibits an unparalleled integral reflectivity which substantially exceeds that of any periodic multilayer mirror pertaining to the corresponding wavelength range. Several Mo/Si aperiodic MSs were synthesized by magnetron sputtering on concave substrates to exhibit a relatively uniform reflectivity of (15 - 11)% in the 125 - 250 Å range, close to the theoretical predictions. These multilayers served as the focusing elements of high-transmission stigmatic transmission grating spectrograph with a plate scale of 20 or 4 Å/mm. The spectrograph was employed to investigate the laser plasma - gas jet interaction and characterize the Xe gas-jet laser-plasma XUV radiation source simultaneously with spatial and spectral resolution in the wavelength range above 124 Å. We have theoretically explored into the reflection of extremely short X-ray pulses by MSs. Special-design aperiodic MSs were shown to possess the unrivaled capacity to reflect few-cycle X-ray pulses ranging into the attoseconds. Aperiodic MSs have been calculated that are capable of reflecting pulses which comprise only three wave periods of an X-ray electromagnetic wave.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 December 2002
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4782, X-Ray Mirrors, Crystals, and Multilayers II, (24 December 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.451355
Show Author Affiliations
Eugene N. Ragozin, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Valerii V. Kondratenko, Kharkov Polytechnic Institute (Ukraine)
Vladimir E. Levashov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Yurii P. Pershin, Kharkov Polytechnic Institute (Ukraine)
Alexander S. Pirozhkov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4782:
X-Ray Mirrors, Crystals, and Multilayers II
Andreas K. Freund; Albert T. Macrander; Tetsuya Ishikawa; James L. Wood, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?