Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Development of compound semiconductor arrays for x- and gamma-ray spectroscopy
Author(s): Alan Owens; Hans Andersson; Marcos Bavdaz; G. Brammertz; Christian Erd; Thomas Gagliardi; V. Gostillo; N. Haack; I. Lisjutin; Seppo Arvo Anter Nenonen; Anthony J. Peacock; Heikki Sipila; Ivor Taylor; Sergey Zatoloka
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We present preliminary results of X-ray measurements on three small format compound semiconductor arrays. The devices, a 4x4 pixel GaAs array fabricated on 325 micrometers epitaxial material, a 4x4 pixel CdZnTe array fabricated on a 4X4X1 mm3 mono crystal and a 3x3 TlBr array fabricated on a 2.7 x 2.7 x 1.0 mm3 mono crystal. The pixel size for all arrays is 350x350micrometers 2. Results are presented of 55Fe and 241Am measurements at 5.9 keV and 59.54 keV. For detector temperatures <+5 degree(s)C typical FWHM energy resolutions of 410 eV, and 600 eV at 5.9 keV and 640 eV and 1.4 keV at 59.54 keV were recorded for the GaAs, and CdZnTe arrays, respectively. Unlike the GaAs and CdZnTe arrays, the TlBr array showed a much wider variation in pixel performance and was difficult to operate with all pixels at a common bias. For example, biasing the detector so that all pixels worked within the operating envelope of the preamplifiers resulted in average energy resolutions of 20 keV at 59.54 keV. However, optimizing the operating conditions of individual pixels resulted in a marked improvement to ~2keV.

Paper Details

Date Published: 18 December 2001
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4507, Hard X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Detector Physics III, (18 December 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.450771
Show Author Affiliations
Alan Owens, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Hans Andersson, Metorex International Oy (Finland)
Marcos Bavdaz, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
G. Brammertz, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Christian Erd, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Thomas Gagliardi, Metorex, Inc. (United States)
V. Gostillo, Baltic Scientific Instruments (Latvia)
N. Haack, HASYLAB at DESY (Germany)
I. Lisjutin, Baltic Scientific Instruments (Latvia)
Seppo Arvo Anter Nenonen, Metorex International Oy (Finland)
Anthony J. Peacock, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Heikki Sipila, Metorex International Oy (Finland)
Ivor Taylor, Metorex, Inc. (United States)
Sergey Zatoloka, Baltic Scientific Instruments (Latvia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4507:
Hard X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Detector Physics III
Ralph B. James, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?