Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Planar parabolic lenses for focusing high-energy x-rays
Author(s): Michail Grigoriev; Leonid Shabelnikov; Vecheslav Yunkin; Anatoly A. Snigirev; Irina Snigireva; Marco Di Michiel; Serguei Kuznetsov; Martin Hoffmann; Edgar I. Voges
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Microelectronics technology involving photolithography and highly anisotropic plasma etching techniques was applied to fabricate planar parabolic refractive lenses. A set of Si planar parabolic lenses with apertures from 0.5 to 1.8 mm and 200 microns deep has been fabricated especially for high energy X-rays (E > 50 keV). Focusing properties in terms of the spot size and the efficiency in the energy range from 50 to 100 keV have been studied at the ESRF ID15 beamline. Linear focusing by single lens and by two-lens system as well as two-dimensional focusing by two lenses in cross geometry has been realized. Features of refractive collimator based on a set of planar lenses have been investigated and a technique for evaluation of the beam divergence in a micro radian range has been proposed. Future applications of proposed planar lenses are discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 November 2001
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4501, X-Ray Mirrors, Crystals, and Multilayers, (14 November 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.448494
Show Author Affiliations
Michail Grigoriev, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Leonid Shabelnikov, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Vecheslav Yunkin, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Anatoly A. Snigirev, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Irina Snigireva, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Marco Di Michiel, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Serguei Kuznetsov, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Martin Hoffmann, Univ. of Dortmund (Germany)
Edgar I. Voges, Univ. of Dortmund (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4501:
X-Ray Mirrors, Crystals, and Multilayers
Andreas K. Freund; Tetsuya Ishikawa; Ali M. Khounsary, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top