Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Measurement of cyclic microdeformation of arterial wall with pulsatile flow
Author(s): Shigehiro Hashimoto M.D.; Shirou Manabe; Kazuhiro Ikegami; Yoshinori Murashige; Chiaki Miyamoto; Masayoshi Omori; Reiji Hattori; Hajime Otani; Hiroji Imamura
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The cyclic micro-deformation of the arterial wall with pulsatile flow was measured to get fundamental data for estimation of the mechanical stress in endothelial cells. The descending aorta (1-2 mm diameter) of an anesthetized rat was exposed under thoracotomy. The displacement measuring system was assembled with the charge coupled devise (CCD) of laser sensor. The movement of laser beam (670 nm wave length) reflected at the vessel wall was calibrated to the movement of the arterial wall. The fluctuating movement was also measured at four points marked on the vessel wall with CCD camera to distinguish the circumferential movement from the longitudinal one. The results showed that the present designed system has enough resolution to measure the arterial vessel wall cyclic-micro-fluctuation, which is 10 percent of diameter in the circumferential direction without deformation in the longitudinal direction with the cardiac beating in vivo.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 June 2002
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4609, Lasers in Surgery: Advanced Characterization, Therapeutics, and Systems XII, (17 June 2002); doi: 10.1117/12.430651
Show Author Affiliations
Shigehiro Hashimoto M.D.
Shirou Manabe
Kazuhiro Ikegami
Yoshinori Murashige
Chiaki Miyamoto
Masayoshi Omori
Reiji Hattori
Hajime Otani
Hiroji Imamura

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4609:
Lasers in Surgery: Advanced Characterization, Therapeutics, and Systems XII
Lawrence S. Bass M.D.; Eugene A. Trowers M.D.; Kenneth Eugene Bartels D.V.M.; Udayan K. Shah M.D.; David S. Robinson M.D.; Lawrence S. Bass M.D.; Kenton W. Gregory M.D.; Kenneth Eugene Bartels D.V.M.; Lawrence S. Bass M.D.; Brian Jet-Fei Wong M.D.; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; Lloyd P. Tate V.D.M.; Nikiforos Kollias; Abraham Katzir; Timothy A. Woodward M.D.; Werner T.W. de Riese; George M. Peavy D.V.M.; Werner T.W. de Riese; Kenton W. Gregory M.D.; Michael D. Lucroy D.V.M.; Abraham Katzir; Nikiforos Kollias; Michael D. Lucroy D.V.M.; Reza S. Malek M.D.; George M. Peavy; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; David S. Robinson M.D.; Udayan K. Shah M.D.; Lloyd P. Tate V.D.M.; Eugene A. Trowers M.D.; Brian Jet-Fei Wong M.D.; Timothy A. Woodward M.D., Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top