Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Absorptance measurements of optical coatings: a round robin
Author(s): Robert Chow; John R. Taylor; Zhouling Wu; Albert Claude Boccara; Ulrike Broulik; Y. Chen; Mireille Commandre; Jean DiJon; Christoph Fleig; Adolf Giesen; Zhengxiu Fan; Pao-Kuang Kuo; Ramin Lalezari; Kent Moncur; H.-J. Obramski; Catherine Pelle; David W. Reicher; Detlev Ristau; Pierre J. Roche; Bernhard Steiger; Marshall Thomsen; Marc K. Von Gunten; Qiang Zhao
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

An international round robin study was conducted on the absorption measurement of laser-quality coatings. Sets of optically coated samples were made by a reactive DC magnetron sputtering and an ion beam sputtering deposition process. The sample set included a high reflector at 514 nm and a high reflector for the near infrared (1030 to 1318 nm), single layers of silicon dioxide, tantalum pentoxide, and hafnium dioxide. For calibration purposes, a sample metalized with hafnium and an uncoated, superpolished fused silica substrate were also included. The set was sent to laboratory groups for absorptance measurement of these coatings. Whenever possible, each group was to measure a common, central area and another area specifically assigned to the respective group. Specific test protocols were also suggested in regards to the laser exposure time, power density, and surface preparation.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 April 2001
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 4347, Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 2000, (12 April 2001);
Show Author Affiliations
Robert Chow, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
John R. Taylor, Lawrence Livermore National Lab. (United States)
Zhouling Wu, Oplink Communications Inc. (United States)
Albert Claude Boccara, Ecole Superieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (France)
Ulrike Broulik, Hochschule fuer Technik und Wirtschaft Mittweida (Germany)
Y. Chen, Eastern Michigan Univ. (United States)
Mireille Commandre, Ecole Nationale Superieure de Physique de Marseille (France)
Jean DiJon, LETI-CEA (France)
Christoph Fleig, Univ. Stuttgart (Germany)
Adolf Giesen, Univ. Stuttgart (Germany)
Zhengxiu Fan, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics (China)
Pao-Kuang Kuo, Wayne State Univ. (United States)
Ramin Lalezari, Research Electro-Optics, Inc. (United States)
Kent Moncur, Eastern Michigan Univ. (United States)
H.-J. Obramski, Univ. Stuttgart (Germany)
Catherine Pelle, LETI-CEA (France)
David W. Reicher, S. Systems Corp./Phillips Lab. (United States)
Detlev Ristau, Laser Zentrum Hannover eV (Germany)
Pierre J. Roche, Ecole Nationale Superieure de Physique de Marseille (France)
Bernhard Steiger, Hochschule fuer Technik und Wirtschaft Mittweida (Germany)
Marshall Thomsen, Eastern Michigan Univ. (United States)
Marc K. Von Gunten, Spectra-Physics Lasers, Inc. (United States)
Qiang Zhao, Eastern Michigan Univ. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4347:
Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 2000
Gregory J. Exarhos; Arthur H. Guenther; Mark R. Kozlowski; Keith L. Lewis; M. J. Soileau, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?