Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Silicon planar parabolic lenses
Author(s): Vitaly V. Aristov; Michail Grigoriev; Serguei Kuznetsov; Leonid Shabelnikov; Vecheslav Yunkin; Christoph Rau; Anatoly A. Snigirev; Irina Snigireva; Timm Weitkamp; Martin Hoffmann; Edgar I. Voges
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Silicon planar parabolic refractive lenses with relief depth of 100 micrometer are realized by microfabrication technique. A set of 5 planar lenses with simple parabolic profiles and equal apertures and equal focal distances is realized. This set consists of different number (from 1 to 8) of individual lenses. Lenses with minimized absorption as a set of parabolic segments are fabricated too. Focusing and spectral properties of silicon planar parabolic lenses were studied with synchrotron radiation in the x-ray energy range 8 - 25 keV at the ESRF. Linear focus spots of 1.5 micrometer width were recorded for the parabolic lenses and 1.8 micrometer for the lenses with minimized absorption. The intensity transmission of the lens with minimized absorption is two times greater than this value of simple parabolic lenses at 8 keV and in the x-ray energy range over 15 keV overcomes 90%. Spectral properties of the lenses with minimized absorption are discussed in details. Heatload properties of the silicon planar lenses are analyzed and compared with the lenses made of diamond.

Paper Details

Date Published: 5 January 2001
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 4145, Advances in X-Ray Optics, (5 January 2001); doi: 10.1117/12.411648
Show Author Affiliations
Vitaly V. Aristov, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Michail Grigoriev, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Serguei Kuznetsov, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (France)
Leonid Shabelnikov, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Vecheslav Yunkin, Institute of Microelectronics Technology (Russia)
Christoph Rau, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Anatoly A. Snigirev, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Irina Snigireva, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Timm Weitkamp, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
Martin Hoffmann, Univ. of Dortmund (Germany)
Edgar I. Voges, Univ. of Dortmund (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4145:
Advances in X-Ray Optics
Alan G. Michette; Andreas K. Freund; Tetsuya Ishikawa; Sebastian Oestreich; Derrick C. Mancini; Ali M. Khounsary; Derrick C. Mancini; Alan G. Michette; Sebastian Oestreich, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?