Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

X-ray pulse-shape analysis on bridge-type microcalorimeters with Ti-Au transition-edge sensors
Author(s): Masahiro Ukibe; Keiichi Tanaka; Fuminori Hirayama; Taku Mizuki; Tomotaka Hikosaka; Toshimitsu Morooka; Kazuo Chinone; Ushio Kawabe; Toshio Nemoto; Masao Koyanagi; Masataka Ohkubo; Naoto Kobayashi
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

We have fabricated a bridge-type structure for microcalorimeters with superconducting transition-edge sensors (TES). Instead of open space under a SiNx membrane in conventional TES microcalorimeters, the bridge-type calorimeters have SiNx membrane floating on the Si substrate covered by a SiO2 layer with a small gap of 30 - 50 micrometer. The bridge-type structure ensures that the calorimeters are mechanically tough. In addition, the thermal conductance can easily be controlled by changing the width, length, or thickness of the SiNx bridge. The calorimeters, of which operating temperature is 0.43 K, consist of a Ti/Au bilayer TES and an Au absorber. The x-ray events were read out by a DC-SQUID current amplifier with a 200-series array of SQUIDs placed on a 4.2 K stage. By analyzing the output pulse shapes, it has been found that the pulses are put into two categories. One has a fast rise time of approximately 3 microseconds and two decay components with time constants of approximately 10 microseconds and about approximately 130 microseconds. Another one has a longer rise time of approximately 10 microseconds and a single decay component of approximately 130 microseconds. It is considered that the pulse shapes depend on the x-ray absorption positions and the heat-flow pass.

Paper Details

Date Published: 13 December 2000
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4140, X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Instrumentation for Astronomy XI, (13 December 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.409133
Show Author Affiliations
Masahiro Ukibe, Electrotechnical Lab. (Japan)
Keiichi Tanaka, Seiko Instruments, Inc. (Japan)
Fuminori Hirayama, Electrotechnical Lab. (Japan)
Taku Mizuki, Univ. of Meiji (Japan)
Tomotaka Hikosaka, Chiba Institute of Technology (Japan)
Toshimitsu Morooka, Seiko Instruments, Inc. (Japan)
Kazuo Chinone, Seiko Instruments, Inc. (Japan)
Ushio Kawabe, Chiba Institute of Technology (Japan)
Toshio Nemoto, Univ. of Meiji (Japan)
Masao Koyanagi, Electrotechnical Lab. (Japan)
Masataka Ohkubo, Electrotechnical Lab. (Japan)
Naoto Kobayashi, Electrotechnical Lab. (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4140:
X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Instrumentation for Astronomy XI
Kathryn A. Flanagan; Oswald H. W. Siegmund, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?