Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Varied-line-spacing laminar-type holographic grating for the standard soft x-ray flat-field spectrograph
Author(s): Masato Koike; Takeshi Namioka; Eric M. Gullikson; Yoshihisa Harada; Sadayuki Ishikawa; Takashi Imazono; Stanley Mrowka; Noboru Miyata; Mihiro Yanagihara; James H. Underwood; Kazuo Sano; Tokuo Ogiwara; Osamu Yoda; Shiro Nagai
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

An aspheric wave-front recording system was designed to produce a holographic grating for use in a standard soft X- ray flat field spectrograph interchangeable with a mechanically ruled varied-line-spacing (VLS) grating. The grating grooves recorded with the designed aspheric wave- front recording system were processed to form a laminar groove profile by means of reactive ion etching. Measurements done with synchrotron radiation and a laboratory X-ray source are reported for this laminar-type grating and a commercial grating replicated from a mechanically ruled VLS grating that was specifically designed and fabricated for the standard soft X-ray flat- field spectrography. The laminar-type holographic grating is found to have an absolute first-order efficiency of approximately 10% for wavelengths of approximately 4.5 - 12 nm. It is also shown that the holographic grating is effective in suppressing the higher orders and stray-light level for soft X-ray of 4.36 nm (C-K) and has a comparable spectral resolution to the replica VLS grating.

Paper Details

Date Published: 8 November 2000
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 4146, Soft X-Ray and EUV Imaging Systems, (8 November 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.406669
Show Author Affiliations
Masato Koike, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (Japan)
Takeshi Namioka, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Eric M. Gullikson, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Yoshihisa Harada, Shimadzu Corp. (Japan)
Sadayuki Ishikawa, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Takashi Imazono, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
Stanley Mrowka, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Noboru Miyata, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (Japan)
Mihiro Yanagihara, Tohoku Univ. (Japan)
James H. Underwood, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States)
Kazuo Sano, Shimadzu Corp. (Japan)
Tokuo Ogiwara, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (Japan)
Osamu Yoda, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (Japan)
Shiro Nagai, Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (Japan)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4146:
Soft X-Ray and EUV Imaging Systems
Winfried M. Kaiser; Richard H. Stulen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?