Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Lockheed Martin team's Next Generation Space Telescope (NGST) reference architecture
Author(s): Frank Martin; Lawrence Lesyna; Robert J. LeRoy; Michael T. Menzel; Gregory C. Andersen; Brent Hyatt; Kenneth J. Triebes; Chuck Rudiger; Mark T. Stier; Charles D. Cox; Charles D. Delp; Roman Hachkowski; George B. Hardman; Michael J. Keane; Malcolm J. MacFarlane; Anthony Mordino; Michael H. Krim
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

An overview of the Lockheed Martin Team's NGST Reference Architecture is discussed. Our f/1 NGST concept includes a lightweight 8-meter primary mirror consisting of eight deployed petals. Alignment and figure control employs wavefront-sensing techniques. Infrared observations are enabled by using a tennis court size multi-layer deployed sunshield permitting the primary mirror to be passively cooled to < 40 K. Candidate Science Instruments cover the spectral range from 0.6 microns to greater than 20 microns. The Integrated Science Instrument Module (ISIM) is passively cooled to approximately 30 K. The Observatory is launched on an AtlasV-531M in 2008 and operates at the L2 LaGrange Point. Science Planning and Mission Operations are the responsibility of the Space Telescope Science Institute in Baltimore Maryland. The ISIM is the responsibility of Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC). The Lockheed Martin Team, including Raytheon, Honeywell, and Jackson and Tull, is an NGST Phase 1 Prime Contractor. The GSFC manages the NGST Project in Greenbelt Maryland.

Paper Details

Date Published: 28 July 2000
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 4013, UV, Optical, and IR Space Telescopes and Instruments, (28 July 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.394043
Show Author Affiliations
Frank Martin, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Lawrence Lesyna, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Robert J. LeRoy, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Michael T. Menzel, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Gregory C. Andersen, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Brent Hyatt, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Kenneth J. Triebes, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Chuck Rudiger, Lockheed Martin Corp. (United States)
Mark T. Stier, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Charles D. Cox, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Charles D. Delp, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Roman Hachkowski, Raytheon Co. (United States)
George B. Hardman, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Michael J. Keane, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Malcolm J. MacFarlane, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Anthony Mordino, Raytheon Co. (United States)
Michael H. Krim, Raytheon Co. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4013:
UV, Optical, and IR Space Telescopes and Instruments
James B. Breckinridge; Peter Jakobsen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?