Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Experiments on slotted coaxial high-power gyrotrons
Author(s): Ronald M. Gilgenbach; Reginald L. Jaynes; William E. Cohen; Christopher W. Peters; Michael R. Lopez; Yue Ying Lau; William J. Williams; T. A. Spencer
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

This research program investigates high power microwave generation utilizing a microsecond electron beam accelerator to study means of eliminating microwave pulse-shortening. The particular device under study is the coaxial gyrotron oscillator in the S-band frequency range. Experiments have concentrated on three types of gyrotron cavities: (1) coaxial, unslotted, (2) coaxial, slotted, and (3) noncoaxial, unslotted. The first major result is that the coaxial rod raises the limiting current in the e-beam diode, permitting reliable, higher current extraction into the microwave tube. The second major finding is that the slotted cavity gives the highest peak powers (approximately 90 MW) but very short pulselengths (approximately 10 - 20 ns). The unslotted coaxial gyrotron emits power levels of 20 - 40 MW with longer pulselengths (up to 40 ns). The noncoaxial gyrotron radiates lower peak power levels (approximately 20 MW). All of the gyrotron types exhibited signs of the pulse shortening mechanisms of mode hopping and mode competition as diagnosed by time-frequency-analysis (TFA). TFA also shows that lower power microwave oscillation is maintained over some 300 ns, but the power level may be modulated due to e-beam voltage fluctuations.

Paper Details

Date Published: 14 July 2000
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 4031, Intense Microwave Pulses VII, (14 July 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.391801
Show Author Affiliations
Ronald M. Gilgenbach, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Reginald L. Jaynes, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
William E. Cohen, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Christopher W. Peters, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Michael R. Lopez, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Yue Ying Lau, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
William J. Williams, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
T. A. Spencer, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4031:
Intense Microwave Pulses VII
Howard E. Brandt, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?