Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Toward terabit/s input to silicon VLSI: a demonstrator experiment
Author(s): Andrew C. Walker; Stuart J. Fancey; M. G. Forbes; Gerald Stuart Buller; Mohammad R. Taghizadeh; Marc P.Y. Desmulliez; Julian A. B. Dines; C. R. Stanley; G. Pennelli; Andrew Boyd; J. L. Pearson; Paul G. Horan; Declan Byrne; John Hegarty; Sven Eitel; Hans-Peter Gauggel; Karlheinz H. Gulden; A. Gauthier; P. Benabes; J. L. Gutzwiller; Michel Goetz
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The physical limit on electronic data communication rates between silicon chips is projected to be of the order of Tbit/s over cm-scale connections. The semiconductor industry predicts that this level of i/o is likely to be required in the near future. Free-space optical connections to silicon VLSI are potentially able to offer much higher data-rates than electrical interconnects and are promising for future high-performance electronic systems. We have assembled the components of an optoelectronic 15 Gbit/s crossbar switch designed to include, internally, an optical data rate to a hybrid InGaAs/silicon chip in the Tbit/s regime. Input to the demonstrator is by an 8 X 8 VCSEL array operating at 250 Mbit/s channel, and these 64 channels are fanned out 8 X 8 times to give the high data rate onto the hybrid chip. This chip includes an array of 4096 InGaAs-based detectors flip chip bonded to silicon CMOS. The custom- designed CMOS performs packet routing under the control of an optical clock and the routed signals are output via differential modulator pairs, interlaced between the detectors on the InGaAs chip.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 May 2000
PDF: 5 pages
Proc. SPIE 4089, Optics in Computing 2000, (24 May 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.386863
Show Author Affiliations
Andrew C. Walker, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Stuart J. Fancey, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
M. G. Forbes, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Gerald Stuart Buller, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Mohammad R. Taghizadeh, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Marc P.Y. Desmulliez, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
Julian A. B. Dines, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom)
C. R. Stanley, Univ. of Glasgow (United Kingdom)
G. Pennelli, Univ. of Glasgow (United Kingdom)
Andrew Boyd, Univ. of Glasgow (United Kingdom)
J. L. Pearson, Univ. of Glasgow (United Kingdom)
Paul G. Horan, Trinity College (Ireland)
Declan Byrne, Trinity College (Ireland)
John Hegarty, Trinity College (Ireland)
Sven Eitel, Ctr. Suisse d'ElectroMecanique (Switzerland)
Hans-Peter Gauggel, Ctr. Suisse d'ElectroMecanique (Switzerland)
Karlheinz H. Gulden, Ctr. Suisse d'ElectroMecanique (Switzerland)
A. Gauthier, Ecole Superieure d'Electricite (France)
P. Benabes, Ecole Superieure d'Electricite (France)
J. L. Gutzwiller, Ecole Superieure d'Electricite (France)
Michel Goetz, Ecole Superieure d'Electricite (France)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4089:
Optics in Computing 2000
Roger A. Lessard; Tigran V. Galstian, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top