Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Efficient first-overtone CO laser frequency tuned within the spectral range of 2.5-4.2 um
Author(s): Nikolai G. Basov; Gordon D. Hager; Andrei A. Ionin; Andrei A. Kotkov; Alexander K. Kurnosov; John E. McCord; Anatoly P. Napartovich; Leonid V. Seleznev; Nikolay G. Turkin
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Output characteristics of a pulsed e-beam controlled discharge laser operating at the first-overtone (FO) transitions ((Delta) V equals 2) of CO molecule have been studied both experimentally and theoretically. Various sets of dielectric mirrors with high reflectivity in the range of the overtone spectrum have been used for the laser resonator. Multiwavelength lasing has been obtained in the wide spectral range of 2.5 - 4.1 micrometers on vibrational transitions from 6 yields 4 up to 37 yields 35. Maximum output efficiency 11%, the highest of eve laser, has been experimentally obtained for the broad band multiline FO CO laser. Maximum specific output energy (SOE) is 50 J/I Amagat. FO CO lasing was observed within an initial gas temperature interval of 100 - 220 K. Spectral characteristics of the overtone laser operating on a selected set of vibrational bands have been analyzed theoretically. Theoretical calculations based on the experimental data predict that multiline FO CO laser efficiency can be increased up to 20%. The experiments with pulsed FO CO laser using diffraction grating as a frequency selective element demonstrated a feasibility of a development of frequency tunable single line pulsed FO CO laser. Tunable FO CO lasing on wavelengths from 2.7 up to 4.2 micrometers corresponding to vibrational transitions from 13 yields 11 up to 38 yields 36 was obtained. The maximum SOE came up to 2.8 J/I Amagat, single line output efficiency being up to 0.6%.

Paper Details

Date Published: 24 April 2000
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 4071, International Conference on Atomic and Molecular Pulsed Lasers III, (24 April 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.383465
Show Author Affiliations
Nikolai G. Basov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Gordon D. Hager, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Andrei A. Ionin, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Andrei A. Kotkov, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Alexander K. Kurnosov, Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (Russia)
John E. McCord, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Anatoly P. Napartovich, Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (Russia)
Leonid V. Seleznev, P.N. Lebedev Physical Institute (Russia)
Nikolay G. Turkin, Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 4071:
International Conference on Atomic and Molecular Pulsed Lasers III
Victor F. Tarasenko; Georgy V. Mayer; Gueorgii G. Petrash, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top