Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Type-II mid-infrared lasers
Author(s): Jerry R. Meyer; William W. Bewley; Igor Vurgaftman; Christopher L. Felix; Linda J. Olafsen; Edward H. Aifer; Donna W. Stokes; Ming Jey Yang; Hao Lee; Raymond J. Menna; Ramon U. Martinelli; Dmitri Z. Garbuzov; John C. Connolly; Mikhail A. Maiorov; Alan R. Sugg; Gregory H. Olsen
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Recent progress towards the realization of high-power, non- cryogenic (quasi-)cw mid-IR lasers based on the `W' configuration of the active region is reported. Type-II diodes with AlGaAsSb broadened-waveguide separate confinement regions are the first III-V interband lasers to achieve room-temperature pulsed operation at a wavelength longer than 3 micrometers . For cw operation, Tmax was 195 K and Pout equals 140 mW was measured at 77 K. Optically- pumped W lasers recently attained the highest cw operating temperatures (290 K) of any semiconductor laser emitting in the 3 - 6 micrometers range. For a (lambda) equals 3.2 micrometers device at 77 K, the maximum cw output power was 0.54 W per uncoated facet. In order to maximize the absorption of the pump in the active region, an optical pumping injection cavity structure was used to create an etalon cavity for the 2.1 micrometers pump beam. The pulsed incident pump intensity at threshold was only 8 kW/cm2 at 300 K for this edge- emitting mid-IR laser. The differential power conversion efficiency was 9% at 77 K and 4% at 275 K, which indicates promising prospects for achieving high cw output powers at TE-cooler temperatures following further optimization.

Paper Details

Date Published: 18 April 2000
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 3947, In-Plane Semiconductor Lasers IV, (18 April 2000); doi: 10.1117/12.382087
Show Author Affiliations
Jerry R. Meyer, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
William W. Bewley, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Igor Vurgaftman, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Christopher L. Felix, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Linda J. Olafsen, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Edward H. Aifer, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Donna W. Stokes, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Ming Jey Yang, Naval Research Lab. (United States)
Hao Lee, Sarnoff Corp. (United States)
Raymond J. Menna, Sarnoff Corp. (United States)
Ramon U. Martinelli, Sarnoff Corp. (United States)
Dmitri Z. Garbuzov, Sarnoff Corp. (United States)
John C. Connolly, Sarnoff Corp. (United States)
Mikhail A. Maiorov, Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (United States)
Alan R. Sugg, Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (United States)
Gregory H. Olsen, Sensors Unlimited, Inc. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3947:
In-Plane Semiconductor Lasers IV
Luke J. Mawst; Ramon U. Martinelli, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top