Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Comprehensive characterization of copper indium disulfide thin film
Author(s): Richard Mu; Don Otto Henderson; Akira Ueda; Marvin H. Wu; Johnathan Bennett; M. A. M. Paliza; M. B. Huang; J. Keay; Leonard C. Feldman; K. C. Kwiatkowski; C. M. Lukehart; Jennifer Hollingsworth; W. E. Buhro; J. Harris; E. Gordon; A. Hepp
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Structural, optical and electrical characterization has been conducted on CuInS2 (CIS) thin film fabricated via spray CVD technique. Both RBS and Raman scattering analyses suggest that the film is slightly Cu rich by approximately 2%. XRD measurement indicates the film is polycrystalline CuInS2 with [220] orientation on a quartz substrate with a possible Cu1.7In0.05S secondary phase (< 3%) co-existing with CIS. The measured optical band gap of the film is about 1.44 eV. Hall effect measurements suggest that the film is p-type. Both measured mobility and resistivity are consistent with those of the bulk. The combination of AFM, STM and electrical measurements indicate that grain boundaries may be the charge carrier transport limiting factors. However, the presence of a secondary non- chalcopyrite phase is complicated the current study. It is still not clear the nature of the hole transport is due to so called `intrinsic doping' and `native defects' in the micron sized CIS crystals, or to the presence of a secondary phase or to the grain boundaries. It is shown that Raman and IR spectroscopy can be powerful tools to study the film stoichiometry, structural composition and molecular species present in the film.

Paper Details

Date Published: 11 October 1999
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 3789, Solar Optical Materials XVI, (11 October 1999); doi: 10.1117/12.367558
Show Author Affiliations
Richard Mu, Fisk Univ. (United States)
Don Otto Henderson, Fisk Univ. (United States)
Akira Ueda, Fisk Univ. (United States)
Marvin H. Wu, Fisk Univ. (United States)
Johnathan Bennett, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
M. A. M. Paliza, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
M. B. Huang, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
J. Keay, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
Leonard C. Feldman, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
K. C. Kwiatkowski, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
C. M. Lukehart, Vanderbilt Univ. (United States)
Jennifer Hollingsworth, Washington Univ. (United States)
W. E. Buhro, Washington Univ. (United States)
J. Harris, NASA Glenn Research Ctr. (United States)
E. Gordon, NASA Glenn Research Ctr. (United States)
A. Hepp, NASA Glenn Research Ctr. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3789:
Solar Optical Materials XVI
Carl M. Lampert; Claes-Goeran Granqvist, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top