Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Determination of VOCs in traffic exhaust by FTIR absorption spectrometry
Author(s): Achim Sedlmaier; Klaus Schaefer; K. H. Becker; Klaus Brockmann; Joerg Heland; Ralf Kurtenbach; J. Loerzer; Peter Wiesen
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Infrared spectral features of organic hydrocarbons were investigated with respect to single compounds. A separation and consequently a quantitative concentration determination is possible for ethane, ethene, ethyne, propene, iso-butene, benzene, toluene, o-xylene, m-xylene and p-xylene using a MCT detector with a cut-off frequency below 660 cm-1. The spectral features of propane, butane, pentane and hexane cannot be separated. In order to be able to derive parameters, such as detection limits, accuracy, precision and the influence of interfering species or different reference data, validation measurements were carried out in a road tunnel and in the laboratory using an open White mirror compartment and closed White cells. FTIR spectra were collected with two spectrometers at different spectral resolutions. Parallel GC measurements were made for comparison.

Paper Details

Date Published: 16 September 1999
PDF: 8 pages
Proc. SPIE 3821, Environmental Sensing and Applications, (16 September 1999); doi: 10.1117/12.364178
Show Author Affiliations
Achim Sedlmaier, Fraunhofer-Institut fuer Atmosphaerische Umweltforschung (Germany)
Klaus Schaefer, Fraunhofer-Institut fuer Atmosphaerische Umweltforschung (Germany)
K. H. Becker, Bergische Univ.-Gesamthochschule Wuppertal (Germany)
Klaus Brockmann, Bergische Univ.-Gesamthochschule Wuppertal (Germany)
Joerg Heland, Bergische Univ.-Gesamthochschule Wuppertal (Germany)
Ralf Kurtenbach, Bergische Univ.-Gesamthochschule Wuppertal (Germany)
J. Loerzer, Bergische Univ.-Gesamthochschule Wuppertal (Germany)
Peter Wiesen, Bergische Univ.-Gesamthochschule Wuppertal (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3821:
Environmental Sensing and Applications
Michel R. Carleer; Moira Hilton; Torsten Lamp; Rainer Reuter; George M. Russwurm; Klaus Schaefer; Konradin Weber; Klaus C. H. Weitkamp; Jean-Pierre Wolf; Ljuba Woppowa, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?