Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Continuous-wave CO2-laser-induced damage thresholds in optical components
Author(s): Keith E. Puttick; Rune Holm; Detlev Ristau; Urs Natzschka; George Kiriakidis; Nirmal Garawal; Eddie Judd; David Holland; David Greening; Nick Ellis; Mark Wilkinson; Miguel Garcia Pamies; Celestino Sanviti
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The measurement of intrinsic laser induced damage thresholds (LIDT) in optical components for continuous wave (CW) CO2 radiation has been investigated. A combination of analytical and numerical models showed that the temperature rise is mainly determined by the surface absorption in transmissive as well as reflective components, and is proportional to the ratio of power to linear dimension (P/d) of the irradiated spot rather than to the conventional power/area (P/d2) parameter. The former ratio therefore represents the correct power scaling law for LIDT measurement in CW laser systems. The precise time domain within which this law holds is a function of spot diameter. This prediction has been confirmed by experimental LIDT tests on well characterized uncoated ZnSe substrates and copper mirrors, and on coated ZnSe windows and copper mirrors. Measured P/d values, though lower than predicted by modelling are considerably higher than those inferred from the technical literature, and show that transmissive components may be used at much higher powers than are at present believed. The results indicate that surface absorption occurs primarily in the sub-surface processing layer. This has been shown by transmission electron microscopy and spectroscopic ellipsometry to be a few hundred nm in depth.

Paper Details

Date Published: 20 April 1998
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 3244, Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 1997, (20 April 1998); doi: 10.1117/12.307045
Show Author Affiliations
Keith E. Puttick, Univ. of Surrey (United Kingdom)
Rune Holm, Univ. of Surrey (United Kingdom)
Detlev Ristau, Laser Zentrum Hannover eV (Germany)
Urs Natzschka, Laser Zentrum Hannover eV (Germany)
George Kiriakidis, FORTH (Greece)
Nirmal Garawal, FORTH (Greece)
Eddie Judd, Davin Optical Ltd. (United Kingdom)
David Holland, Davin Optical Ltd. (United Kingdom)
David Greening, V&S Scientific Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Nick Ellis, V&S Scientific Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Mark Wilkinson, Laser Beam Products Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Miguel Garcia Pamies, Laser Quanta SA (Spain)
Celestino Sanviti, Tecnogamma snc (Italy)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3244:
Laser-Induced Damage in Optical Materials: 1997
Gregory J. Exarhos; Arthur H. Guenther; Mark R. Kozlowski; M. J. Soileau, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?