Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

HgCdTe detectors for infrared remote sensing applications
Author(s): Arvind I. D'Souza; Larry C. Dawson; Eric J. Anderson; Arvel Dean Markum; William E. Tennant; Lucia O. Bubulac; Majid Zandian; John G. Pasko; William V. McLevige; Dennis E. Edwall; Jeffrey W. Derr; John E. Jandik
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Remote sensing applications including the National Polar Orbiting Environmental Satellite System (NPOESS) require imaging in a multitude of infrared spectral bands, ranging from the 1.58 micrometer to 1.64 micrometer VSWIR band to the 11.5 micrometer to 12.5 micrometer LWIR band and beyond. These diverse spectral bands require high performance detectors, operating over a range of temperatures; room temperature for the VSWIR band 100 K for MWIR, LWIR and VLWIR, these needs can all be met using molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) to grow HgCdTe. The flexibility inherent in the MBE growth technology is its ability to vary the HgCdTe material's bandgap within a growth run and from growth run to growth run, a capability necessary for remote sensing applications that require imaging in a wide variety of spectral bands. This bandgap engineering flexibility also permits tailoring the device architecture to the various specific system requirements. This paper combines measured detector optical and electrical data, with noise model estimates of ROIC performance to calculate signal to noise ratio (SNR), D* or noise equivalent temperature difference (NE(Delta) T), for each spectral band. The SNR, D* and/or NE(Delta) T are calculated with respect to system focal plane specifications, as required for the meteorological NPOESS.

Paper Details

Date Published: 31 December 1997
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 3221, Sensors, Systems, and Next-Generation Satellites, (31 December 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.298105
Show Author Affiliations
Arvind I. D'Souza, Boeing Electro-Optical Ctr. (United States)
Larry C. Dawson, Boeing Electro-Optical Ctr. (United States)
Eric J. Anderson, Boeing Electro-Optical Ctr. (United States)
Arvel Dean Markum, Boeing Electro-Optical Ctr. (United States)
William E. Tennant, Rockwell Science Ctr. (United States)
Lucia O. Bubulac, Rockwell Science Ctr. (United States)
Majid Zandian, Rockwell Science Ctr. (United States)
John G. Pasko, Rockwell Science Ctr. (United States)
William V. McLevige, Rockwell Science Ctr. (United States)
Dennis E. Edwall, Rockwell Science Ctr. (United States)
Jeffrey W. Derr, ITT Defense & Electronics (United States)
John E. Jandik, ITT Defense & Electronics (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3221:
Sensors, Systems, and Next-Generation Satellites
Hiroyuki Fujisada, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?