Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Comparison of conventional molecularly doped polymeric photoreceptors and novel liquid-crystalline systems: charge injection and charge transport
Author(s): Dieter Adam; Horst Swienty; Heinz Pinsler; Manfred Lutz; Jens Bondkowski; Ingo Bleyl; Dietrich Haarer
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Charge-carrier transport and charge-carrier injection in mono-layers and two-layer photoreceptors with both "conventional", i. e., molecularly doped polymeric (MDP) transport layers and novel liquid-crystalline (LC) transport systems have been investigated by time-of-flight (TOF) experiments. As compared to the MDP materials, the LC model compounds showed a considerable potential towards high-speed xerographic application due to a charge-carrier mobility as high as 0,1 cm2/V s for the hexa(hexyltho)triphenylene (HHTT). In two-layer systems with MDP CTL, the formation of a sharp and well-defined interface between CGL and TL is impossible, a bulky intermediate layer is inevitable due to the wet-coating process. This results in a delayed charge-carrier injection due to space-charge effects originating from the intermediate layer. Two-layer systems with a LC CTL allow to investigate two novel aspects: (i) Since preparation of a LC CU is feasible in a solvent-free process, the formation of an ideal, i.e., sharp interface between CU and CGL is possible. Hence, charge-carrier injection from a well-defined interface can be studied. The results can be explained (i) by taking into account the different extrinsic charge-generation mechanisms for azo pigments (Azo) and phthalocyanine pigments and (ii) the different HOMO levels of Azo and phthalocyanine as compared to the HOMO-level of HHTT (ii) Due to the high charge carrier mobility, the LC CU is a "fast enough probe" to monitor time resolved injection phenomena.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 October 1997
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 3144, Xerographic Photoreceptors and Organic Photorefractive Materials II, (9 October 1997); doi: 10.1117/12.290245
Show Author Affiliations
Dieter Adam, AEG Elektrofotografie GmbH (Germany)
Horst Swienty, AEG Elektrofotografie GmbH (Germany)
Heinz Pinsler, AEG Elektrofotografie GmbH (Germany)
Manfred Lutz, AEG Elektrofotografie GmbH (Germany)
Jens Bondkowski, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Ingo Bleyl, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)
Dietrich Haarer, Univ. Bayreuth (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 3144:
Xerographic Photoreceptors and Organic Photorefractive Materials II
Stephen Ducharme; Stephen Ducharme; James W. Stasiak, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?