Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Threshold and efficiency analysis in Er:YAG laser ablation of hard dental tissue
Author(s): Boris Majaron; Matjaz Lukac; Dusan Sustercic; Nenad Funduk; Uros Skaleric
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

Influence of pulselength on mid-IR laser ablation of hard dental tissue was studied experimentally by applying free- generated Er:YAG laser pulses with pulselengths from 50 microsecond(s) to 1 ms and different energies to dentin slices in vitro with no spray cooling. The results show that for pulselengths between 50 and 300 micrometers , dentin ablation turns up abruptly at a well defined fluence value of approximately 4 J/cm2, which is independent of the pulselength. Similarly, volumes of the resulting craters as a function of laser fluence at these pulselengths follow nearly the same curve, which corresponds well to a model of laser beam screening by the ejected debris. However, with 1 ms long laser pulses, the ablation tunes up at laser fluences above 4 J/cm2 only gradually, reaching differential ablation efficiency similar as in previous cases at fluence values several times higher than the ablation threshold value. An estimate of this 'second threshold' fluence and the pulselengths at which it should in general be observed are derived from a simple model of heat diffusion and ablation front dynamics.

Paper Details

Date Published: 3 December 1996
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 2922, Laser Applications in Medicine and Dentistry, (3 December 1996); doi: 10.1117/12.260676
Show Author Affiliations
Boris Majaron, Jozef Stefan Institute/Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Matjaz Lukac, Jozef Stefan Institute/Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Dusan Sustercic, Dental Clinic/Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Nenad Funduk, Dental Clinic/Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
Uros Skaleric, Dental Clinic/Univ. of Ljubljana (Slovenia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2922:
Laser Applications in Medicine and Dentistry
Gregory B. Altshuler; Fausto Chiesa; Herbert J. Geschwind M.D.; Raimund Hibst; Neville Krasner M.D.; Frederic Laffitte; Giulio Maira; Reinhard Neumann; Roberto Pini; Hans-Dieter Reidenbach; Andre Roggan; Montserrat Serra I Mila, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?