Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Femtosecond stimulated electro-optics of electrochemically synthesized CdS particles of different morphology
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

A laser operated nanocomposites for linear electrooptics modulators based on cadmium sulfide (CdS) nanoparticles synthesized by electrochemical anodizing method in the polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solvent are realized. The basic components are CdS nanoparticles. The XRD data confirm that the wurtzite component content was varied within the 10 % to 27%. Varying PVA solvent the average sizes have been changed. The synthesized powders consist of nano-sized particles with sizes varying within 11 nm…14.5 nm. It is demonstrated an influence of PVA content on the grain sizes. The diameter of particles of CdS is enhanced with an increasing PVA content. The PVA causes a significant increase in the size of the particles. The photoinduced electrooptics has been performed using as a photoinducing 120 fs femtosecond laser at 1045 nm. The linear electrooptics was probed by He-Ne cw laser at 1150 nm. A correlation between the content of wurtzite CdS component and the output electrooptics is found. The maximal values are achieved for the 83.8 % of wurtzite CdS component. For other content of wurtzite CdS these values are less. This one reflect a fact of significant role of acentric crystallites in the observed dependences that may be used for the further search and design of the laser operated electrooptical materials in a future development of laser modulators and laser triggers. Additional important role is played by interfaces. The principal physical origin of the effect is caused by interfaces between the nanoparticles and structurally disordered background. The effect is completely irreversible and disappears after several seconds.

Paper Details

Date Published: 2 March 2020
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 11274, Physics and Simulation of Optoelectronic Devices XXVIII, 112741W (2 March 2020); doi: 10.1117/12.2543528
Show Author Affiliations
Katarzyna Ozga, Czestochowa Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Oleksandr M. Yanchuk, Eastern European National Univ. (Ukraine)
Oleg V. Marchuk, Lesya Ukrainka Eastern European National Univ. (Ukraine)
Irina A. Moroz, Lutsk National Technical Univ. (Ukraine)
Iwan V. Kityk, Czestochowa Univ. of Technology (Poland)
Ahmed M. El-Naggar, King Saud Univ. (Saudi Arabia)
Ahmed A. Albassam, King Saud Univ. (Saudi Arabia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11274:
Physics and Simulation of Optoelectronic Devices XXVIII
Bernd Witzigmann; Marek Osiński; Yasuhiko Arakawa, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?