Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Joint European x-ray monitor (JEM-X): x-ray monitor for ESA's INTEGRAL mission
Author(s): Herbert W. Schnopper; Carl Budtz-Joergensen; Niels J. Westergaard; Allan Hornstrup; Veikko J. Kamarainen; J. Huovelin; Osmi R. Vilhu; Enrico Costa; Luigi Piro; Filippo Frontera; Giuseppe Manzo; Salvatore Giarrusso; A. J. Castro-Tirado; Victor Reglero; R. Svensson; A. C. Fabian; A. Zdziarski; M. Morawski; Keith Jahoda; Rashid Sunyaev; M. P. Pavlinsky
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

JEM-X will extend the energy range of the gamma ray instruments on ESA's INTEGRAL mission (SPI, IBIS) to include the x-ray band. JEM-X will provide images with arcminute angular resolution in the 2 - 60 keV band. The baseline photon detection system consists of two identical, high pressure, imaging microstrip gas chambers, each with a collecting area of 500 cm2. They view the sky through a coded aperture mask (0.5 mm tungsten) at a separation of 3.4 m. The two detector boxes are formed from 2 mm thick stainless steel plate and are filled with 5 bar Xe. The field of view is defined by the collimator mounted on top of the detector. Each collimator consists of an array of bonded square tubes of Mo. The internal surface of these tubes is covered by a graded shield. The collimator provide also the support for the detector windows which are made out of 250 micrometer thick beryllium foils. The detector sensor elements consists of microstrip plates shaped as regular octagons with a diameter of 292 mm. The basic microstrip pattern is similar to the one chosen for the HEPC/LEPC detector system on SRG. The detector position resolution will be sufficient to ensure an angular resolution for JEM-X of better than 3 arcmin throughout the 2 - 60 keV band.

Paper Details

Date Published: 18 October 1996
PDF: 11 pages
Proc. SPIE 2806, Gamma-Ray and Cosmic-Ray Detectors, Techniques, and Missions, (18 October 1996); doi: 10.1117/12.253989
Show Author Affiliations
Herbert W. Schnopper, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Carl Budtz-Joergensen, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Niels J. Westergaard, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Allan Hornstrup, Danish Space Research Institute (Denmark)
Veikko J. Kamarainen, Metorex International OY (Finland)
J. Huovelin, Univ. of Helsinki (Finland)
Osmi R. Vilhu, Univ. of Helsinki (Finland)
Enrico Costa, Istituto di Astrofisica Spaziale (Italy)
Luigi Piro, Istituto di Astrofisica Spaziale (Italy)
Filippo Frontera, Univ. di Ferrara (Italy)
Giuseppe Manzo, Istituto di Tecnologie e Studio della Radiazioni Extraterrestri (Italy)
Salvatore Giarrusso, Istituto di Fisica Cosmica e Applicazione (Italy)
A. J. Castro-Tirado, Istituto Nacional de Tecnica Aerospaziale (Spain)
Victor Reglero, Univ. de Valencia (Spain)
R. Svensson, Stockholm Observatory (Sweden)
A. C. Fabian, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
A. Zdziarski, Copernicus Astronomical Ctr. (Poland)
M. Morawski, Space Research Ctr. (Poland)
Keith Jahoda, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Rashid Sunyaev, Institute for Space Research (Russia)
M. P. Pavlinsky, Institute for Space Research (Russia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2806:
Gamma-Ray and Cosmic-Ray Detectors, Techniques, and Missions
Brian D. Ramsey; Thomas A. Parnell, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top