Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • Open Access

BEaTriX (Beam Expander Testing X-ray facility) for testing ATHENA's SPO modules: advancement status

Paper Abstract

ATHENA Silicon Pore Optics (SPO) Mirror Modules (MM) have to be tested and accepted prior to integration in the full ATHENA Mirror Assembly (MA). X-ray tests of the MMs are currently performed at the PTB laboratory of the BESSY synchrotron facility in pencil beam configuration, but they require a PSF reconstruction. Full illumination X-ray tests could be performed using a broad, low-divergent X-ray beam like the one in use at PANTER (MPE, Neuried, Germany), but the large volume to be evacuated makes it impossible to perform the functional tests at the MMs production rate (3 MM/day).
To overcome these limitations, we started in 2012 to design a facility aimed at generating a broad (170 x 60 mm2), uniform and low-divergent (1.5 arcsec HEW) X-ray beam within a small lab (∼ 9 x 18 m2), to characterize the ATHENA MM. BEaTriX (the Beam Expander Testing X-ray facility) makes use of an X-ray microfocus source, a paraboloidal mirror, a crystal monochromation system, and an asymmetrically-cut diffracting crystal for the beam expansion. These optical components, in addition to a modular low-vacuum level (10-3 mbar), enable to match the ATHENA SPO acceptance requirements.
The realization of this facility at INAF-OAB in Merate (Italy) is now on going. Once completed, BEaTriX can be used to test the Silicon Pore Optics modules of the ATHENA X-ray observatory, as well as other optics, like the ones of the Arcus mission. In this paper we report the advancement status of the facility.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 July 2019
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 11180, International Conference on Space Optics — ICSO 2018, 1118026 (12 July 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2535997
Show Author Affiliations
B. Salmaso, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
S. Basso, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
M. Ghigo, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
E. Giro, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
G. Pareschi, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
D. Spiga, INAF, SLAC (United States)
G. Tagliaferri, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
G. Vecchi, INAF – Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera (Italy)
C. Pelliciari, Max-Planck-Institüt für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
V. Burwitz, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (Germany)
M. Sanchez del Rio, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (France)
C. Ferrari, CNR-IMEM (Italy)
A. Zappettini, CNR-IMEM (Italy)
M. Uslenghi, INAF-IASF (Italy)
M. Fiorini, INAF-IASF (Italy)
G. Parodi, BCV Progetti (Italy)
M. Ayre, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
M. Bavdaz, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
I. Ferreira, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
E. Wille, European Space Agency (Netherlands)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11180:
International Conference on Space Optics — ICSO 2018
Zoran Sodnik; Nikos Karafolas; Bruno Cugny, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?