Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • Open Access

Laser source electronics (LASE) for the infrared atmospheric sounder interferometer next generation (IASI-NG)
Author(s): Lars Lierstuen; Sedsel F. Thomassen; Eystein T. Saether; Steinar Johnsen; Benjamin Hagaas; Cathrine Brecht; Rune Raknerud; Yngve Lien; Ivar Miljeteig; Even Frøen; Terrence Lockey

Paper Abstract

The MetOp-SG satellite program is an EUMETSAT/-ESA cooperation with the objective to obtain long-term collection of remotely sensed data of uniform quality for meteorology and climate monitoring state analysis and forecast. A series of three satellite pairs (MetOp-SG-A1, -A2 and –A3) are to be launched, ensuring continuity of data to beyond 2045.

The Infrared Atmospheric Sounder Interferometer Next Generation (IASI-NG), being developed by CNES, is one of the instruments on the MetOp-SG-A’s. The IASI-NG is a Fourier Transform Infrared Spectrometer scanning the atmosphere to provide data for atmospheric gas characterisation.

Kongsberg Defence and Aerospace (KDA) has developed the LAser Source Electronics (LASE) for the IASI-NG instrument. The LASE provides a wavelength-stabilized optical source to be injected into the IASI-NG with a wavelength stability within ± 0.00015 nm throughout the instrument lifetime. The wavelength is locked and controlled using a feedback-loop containing a gas cell filled with 13C2H2. The LASE shall in addition perform the conversion of the optical signal from the interferometer into analogue electrical signal which can be further processed. The lifetime includes 15.75 years of storage and 7.75 years in space.

The challenge of meeting the required Polarisation Extinction Ratio (PER) for a fiber optical system, as the one in LASE, is discussed.

Paper Details

Date Published: 12 July 2019
PDF: 14 pages
Proc. SPIE 11180, International Conference on Space Optics — ICSO 2018, 111801A (12 July 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2535965
Show Author Affiliations
Lars Lierstuen, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Sedsel F. Thomassen, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Eystein T. Saether, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Steinar Johnsen, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Benjamin Hagaas, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Cathrine Brecht, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Rune Raknerud, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Yngve Lien, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Ivar Miljeteig, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Even Frøen, Kongsberg Space (Norway)
Terrence Lockey, Pengraig Consulting Ltd. (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11180:
International Conference on Space Optics — ICSO 2018
Zoran Sodnik; Nikos Karafolas; Bruno Cugny, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?