Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Ultrathin tunable terahertz absorbers based on electrostatically actuated metamaterial
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

High performance tunable absorbers for terahertz (THz) frequencies will be crucial in advancing applications such as single-pixel imaging and spectroscopy. Metamaterials provide many new possibilities for manipulating electromagnetic waves at the subwavelength scale. Due to the limited response of natural materials to terahertz radiation, metamaterials in this frequency band are of particular interest.

The realization of a high-performance tunable (THz) absorber based on microelectromechanical system (MEMS) is challenging, primarily due to the severe mismatch between the actuation range of most MEMS (on the order of 1-10 microns) and THz wavelengths on the order of 100-1000 microns. Based on a metamaterial design that has an electromagnetic response that is extremely position sensitive, we combine meta-atoms with suspended at membranes that can be driven electrostatically. This is demonstrated by using near-field coupling of the meta-atoms to create a substantial change in the resonant frequency.

The devices created in this manner are among the best-performing tunable THz absorbers demonstrated to date, with an ultrathin device thickness ( 1/50 of the working wavelength), absorption varying between 60% and 80% in the initial state when the membranes remain suspended, and with a fast switching speed ( 27 us). In the snap-down state, the resonance shifts by γ >200% of the linewidth (14% of the initial resonance frequency), and the absorption modulation measured at the initial resonance can reach 65%.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 October 2019
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 11159, Electro-Optical and Infrared Systems: Technology and Applications XVI, 1115908 (9 October 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2534282
Show Author Affiliations
Mingkai Liu, The Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Mohamad Susli, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Dilusha Silva, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Gino Putrino, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Hemendra Kala, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Shuting Fan, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Michael Cole, The Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Lorenzo Faraone, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Vincent P. Wallace, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Willie J. Padilla, Duke Univ. (United States)
David A. Powell, The Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Ilya V. Shadrivov, The Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Mariusz Martyniuk, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11159:
Electro-Optical and Infrared Systems: Technology and Applications XVI
Duncan L. Hickman; Helge Bürsing, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?