Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper • new

Control of magnetization dynamics by spin-Nernst torque (Conference Presentation)

Paper Abstract

Spin current can be used to control the magnetization dynamics of a nano-magnet. There are various ways to generate spin current. Electrical current or heat current passing through a ferromagnet can generate spin current due to the spin dependent conductivity or spin-dependent Seebeck effect. Electrical current passing through a non-magnetic material with high spin-orbit coupling can generate spin current via the spin-Hall effect. Heat current passing through a non-magnet can also generate spin current due the spin-orbit coupling. This effect known as the spin-Nernst effect (SNE), has been shown recently by measuring thermally driven spin-Hall magneto-resistance [1-3]. We have shown that the spin-Nernst effect can be measured directly via a multi-terminal device with ferromagnetic Ni contacts on Pt [4]. We generated heat current in the Pt and the resultant spin current was then detected by Ni contacts. The same multi-terminal device was used to measure the spin-Hall angle for comparison with spin-Nernst angle. In a further work, we have shown that the spin current generated via spin-Nernst effect can be injected into an adjacent FM layer to exert spin-transfer torque (spin-Nernst torque) [5]. We could change the effective damping of the ferromagnet via spin-Nernst torque. [1] S. Meyer, Nat. Mater. 16, 977 (2017). [2] P. Sheng, Sci. Adv. 3, e1701503 (2017). [3] D. J. Kim,, Nat. Commun. 8, 1400 (2017). [4] A. Bose, Applied Physics Letters, 112, 162401 (2018). [5] A. Bose, Phys. Rev. B 98, 184412 (2018).

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 September 2019
Proc. SPIE 11090, Spintronics XII, 110900V (10 September 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2529941
Show Author Affiliations
Arnab Bose, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)
Ambika Shukla, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)
Sutapa Dutta, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)
Swapnil Bhuktare, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)
Hanuman Singh, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)
Venu Achanta, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (India)
Ashwin A. Tulapurkar, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11090:
Spintronics XII
Henri-Jean M. Drouhin; Jean-Eric Wegrowe; Manijeh Razeghi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top