Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Mechanical design of a flexural nanopositioning stage system for hard x-ray nanofocusing at the Advanced Photon Source 32-ID-C station
Author(s): Deming Shu; Vincent De Andrade; Jayson Anton; Steven Kearney; Kamel Fezzaa; Sunil Bean; Alex Deriy; Wenjun Liu; Jorg Maser; Barry Lai; Jonathan Z. Tischler; Francesco De Carlo
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Transmission X-ray Microscope (TXM) at beamline 32-ID-C of the Advanced Photon Source (APS) is a high throughput instrument with high spatial resolution for operando nano-tomography experiments [1]. Recently, a flexural nanopositioning stage system has been designed, and constructed at the APS for a set of JTECTM Kirkpatrick-Baez (KB) mirrors to be installed at the beamline 32-ID-C station. It will focus X-ray down to a 15-20 nm focal spot that will serve as a point source for projection microscopy. Many flexural stages in the stage system are using the same designs developed by APS for the beamline 34-ID-E [2]. However, the new stage system configuration is optimized for the operation conditions at the APS 32-ID-C to accommodate large nano-tomography sample stages. The experiences gained from this new flexural nanopositioning stage system design will benefit designs of K-B mirror nanofocusing stages for other x-ray nanoprobe beamline instruments at the APS-Upgrade project, especially for the In-Situ Nanoprobe instrument design. The mechanical design of the flexural stages, as well as its preliminary mechanical test results with laser interferometer are described in this paper.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 September 2019
PDF: 9 pages
Proc. SPIE 11112, X-Ray Nanoimaging: Instruments and Methods IV, 111120N (9 September 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2529384
Show Author Affiliations
Deming Shu, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Vincent De Andrade, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Jayson Anton, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Steven Kearney, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Kamel Fezzaa, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Sunil Bean, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Alex Deriy, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Wenjun Liu, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Jorg Maser, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Barry Lai, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Jonathan Z. Tischler, Argonne National Lab. (United States)
Francesco De Carlo, Argonne National Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11112:
X-Ray Nanoimaging: Instruments and Methods IV
Barry Lai; Andrea Somogyi, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?