Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Habitable-zone exoplanet observatory (HabEx) baseline 4-m telescope design and predicted performance
Author(s): H. Philip Stahl; Gary Kuan; William Arnold Sr.; Michael Baysinger; Thomas Brooks; Velibor Cormarkovic; Jacqueline Davis; Jay Garcia; J. Brent Knight; Stefan Martin; Navtej Saini; Hao Tang; Juan Villalvazo

Paper Abstract

The Habitable Exoplanet Observatory Mission (HabEx) is one of four missions under study for the 2020 Astrophysics Decadal Survey. Its goal is to directly image and spectroscopically characterize planetary systems in the habitable zone around nearby sun-like stars. Additionally, HabEx will perform a broad range of general astrophysics science enabled by 100 to 2500 nm spectral range and 3 × 3 arc-minute FOV. Critical to achieving its the HabEx science goals is a large, ultrastable UV/Optical/Near-IR (UVOIR) telescope. The baseline HabEx telescope is a 4-meter off-axis unobscured threemirror- anastigmatic, diffraction limited at 400 nm with wavefront stability on the order of a few 10s of picometers. This paper summarizes the opto-mechanical design of the HabEx baseline optical telescope assembly, including a discussion of how science requirements drive the telescope’s specifications, and presents analysis that the baseline telescope structure meets its specified tolerances.

Paper Details

Date Published: 9 September 2019
Proc. SPIE 11115, UV/Optical/IR Space Telescopes and Instruments: Innovative Technologies and Concepts IX, 111150U (9 September 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2528331
Show Author Affiliations
H. Philip Stahl, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Gary Kuan, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
William Arnold Sr., AI Solutions (United States)
Michael Baysinger, ESSA (United States)
Thomas Brooks, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Velibor Cormarkovic, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jacqueline Davis, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Jay Garcia, ESSA (United States)
J. Brent Knight, NASA Marshall Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Stefan Martin, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Navtej Saini, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Hao Tang, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Juan Villalvazo, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11115:
UV/Optical/IR Space Telescopes and Instruments: Innovative Technologies and Concepts IX
Allison A. Barto; James B. Breckinridge; H. Philip Stahl, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?