Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

GaSb-based infrared photodetector structures grown on Ge-Si substrates via metamorphic buffers
Author(s): Joel M. Fastenau; Dmitri Lubyshev; Scott A. Nelson; Michael Kattner; Phillip Frey; Matt Fetters; Joe Zeng; Amy W. K. Liu; Aled O. Morgan; Stuart A. Edwards; Rich Dennis; Kim Beech; Doug Burrows; Kelly Patnaude; Ross Faska; Jason Bundas; Axel Reisinger; Mani Sundaram; Mark J. Furlong
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

GaSb-based infrared (IR) photodetector technology progression is toward larger-format focal plane arrays (FPAs). This requires a performance-based and cost-based manufacturing process on larger diameter substrates for improved throughput, volume, and yield. IQE has demonstrated molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) growth processes for barrier-design detectors (nBn) in multi-wafer configurations on 4-inch and 5-inch diameter GaSb substrates, and via a metamorphic process on 4-inch and 6-inch GaAs substrates. Recently we took the next step in this progression, growing nBn detectors on 6-inch Si substrates coated with CVD-grown Ge, opening the door for potential integration with Si-based electronic circuitry. Here, we compare the epiwafer characteristics (morphology, x-ray, PL) and diode performance (turn-on, QE, cutoff wavelength) of this M-nBn on Ge-Si with the same M-nBn on GaAs and the corresponding nBn structure grown on native GaSb substrate. Similar performance was obtained on all three types of substrates. We also present FPA data based on a 640×512 pixel, 15 μm pitch process without substrate removal, where QE ~ 80%, NE▵T < 20 mK, and operability <99% was demonstrated. The results represent an important technological path toward next-generation large-format IR detector array applications.

Paper Details

Date Published: 7 May 2019
PDF: 7 pages
Proc. SPIE 11002, Infrared Technology and Applications XLV, 110020M (7 May 2019); doi: 10.1117/12.2521055
Show Author Affiliations
Joel M. Fastenau, IQE Inc. (United States)
Dmitri Lubyshev, IQE Inc. (United States)
Scott A. Nelson, IQE Inc. (United States)
Michael Kattner, IQE Inc. (United States)
Phillip Frey, IQE Inc. (United States)
Matt Fetters, IQE Inc. (United States)
Joe Zeng, IQE Inc. (United States)
Amy W. K. Liu, IQE Inc. (United States)
Aled O. Morgan, IQE Silicon Compounds Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Stuart A. Edwards, IQE Silicon Compounds Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Rich Dennis, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Kim Beech, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Doug Burrows, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Kelly Patnaude, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Ross Faska, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Jason Bundas, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Axel Reisinger, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Mani Sundaram, QmagiQ, LLC (United States)
Mark J. Furlong, IQE (United Kingdom)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 11002:
Infrared Technology and Applications XLV
Bjørn F. Andresen; Gabor F. Fulop; Charles M. Hanson, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?