Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

AEG PtSi modules: a summary
Author(s): Wolfgang A. Cabanski; R. Koch; Horst Maier; G. Pahler; C. Joachim Wendler; Johann Ziegler; Karl C. Hofmann; Kurt Eberhardt; Peter P. Deimel; U. Prechtel; K. Kapser
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

AEG has successfully developed a family of PtSi detection modules to cover various applications. The development was performed in a cooperation with Daimler Benz Research and Technology F2M and Telefunken Microelectronic TEMIC EZIS. The modules are designed around 2 staring PtSi focal plane arrays (FPA) having 256 X 256 pixels or 640 X 486 pixels, respectively. Both arrays are identical in their basic features like 24 micrometers pitch, > 60% fillfactor, variable integration time, optional interlaced and non interlaced rolling frame readout, subframe capability and excellent thermal resolution with measured values for the NETD < 70 mK (300 K, 20 ms, F/1.4). The FPA's are integrated either in integrated dewar cooler assemblies with a 1/3 W split linear compressor for the 256 X 256 FPA or a 1 W split linear compressor for the 640 X 486 FPA, respectively, or designed for the use in seeker applications with a Joule Thomson cryocooler (640 X 486 FPA only). The modules are completed by different miniaturized types of electronics, providing all DC and clock supplies to drive the FPA's and providing the customer with either a buffered analog or a 14 Bit resolution digital interface. Digital signal processor (DSP) based image correction units were developed for testing the units. The DSP boards provide the ability for freely programmable real-time functions like 2 point correction or other data manipulations in camera applications. The modules and their key features are reviewed together with their performance data.

Paper Details

Date Published: 17 June 1996
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 2746, Infrared Detectors and Focal Plane Arrays IV, (17 June 1996); doi: 10.1117/12.243048
Show Author Affiliations
Wolfgang A. Cabanski, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
R. Koch, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Horst Maier, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
G. Pahler, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
C. Joachim Wendler, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Johann Ziegler, AEG Infrarot-Module GmbH (Germany)
Karl C. Hofmann, Telefunken Microelectronic TEMIC EZIS (Germany)
Kurt Eberhardt, Telefunken Microelectronic TEMIC EZIS (Germany)
Peter P. Deimel, Daimler-Benz Research and Technology F2M (Germany)
U. Prechtel, Daimler-Benz Research and Technology F2M (Germany)
K. Kapser, Daimler-Benz Research and Technology F2M (Germany)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 2746:
Infrared Detectors and Focal Plane Arrays IV
Eustace L. Dereniak; Robert E. Sampson, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?