Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Opening the dynamic infrared sky
Author(s): Jamie Soon; Anna M. Moore; Mansi M. Kasliwal; Ryan M. Lau; Kishalay De; Tony D. Travouillon; Mike I. Jones; Eran Ofek; Roger Smith; Valery Terebizh; Dan McKenna; David Hale; Alexandre Delacroix; Scott M. Adams; Jacob E. Jencson; Michael Ashley; Jill Burnham; Jennifer L. Sokoloski; Joss Bland-Hawthorn; Ken C. Freeman; Orsola De Marco; Jeff Cooke; Philip Bland; Stuart Ryder; Roberto Soria; Jarek Antoszewski; Alexander Heger; Lee Spitler; Robert Simcoe
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

While optical and radio transient surveys have enjoyed a renaissance over the past decade, the dynamic infrared sky remains virtually unexplored from the ground. The infrared is a powerful tool for probing transient events in dusty regions that have high optical extinction, and for detecting the coolest of stars that are bright only at these wavelengths. The fundamental roadblocks in studying the infrared time-domain have been the overwhelmingly bright sky background (250 times brighter than optical) and the narrow field-of-view of infrared cameras (largest is VISTA at 0.6 sq deg). To address these challenges, Palomar Gattini-IR is currently under construction at Palomar Observatory and we propose a further low risk, economical, and agile instrument to be located at Siding Spring Observatory, as well as further instruments which will be located at the high polar regions to take advantage of the low thermal sky emission, particularly in the 2.5 micron region.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 July 2018
PDF: 12 pages
Proc. SPIE 10700, Ground-based and Airborne Telescopes VII, 107004D (6 July 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2312731
Show Author Affiliations
Jamie Soon, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Anna M. Moore, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Mansi M. Kasliwal, Caltech (United States)
Ryan M. Lau, Caltech (United States)
Kishalay De, Caltech (United States)
Tony D. Travouillon, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Mike I. Jones, Precision Optics of Azle (United States)
Eran Ofek, Weizmann Institute of Science (Israel)
Roger Smith, Caltech (United States)
Valery Terebizh, Crimean Astrophysical Observatory (Ukraine)
Dan McKenna, Caltech (United States)
David Hale, Caltech (United States)
Alexandre Delacroix, Caltech (United States)
Scott M. Adams, Caltech (United States)
Jacob E. Jencson, Caltech (United States)
Michael Ashley, Univ. of New South Wales (Australia)
Jill Burnham, Caltech (United States)
Jennifer L. Sokoloski, Columbia Univ. (United States)
Joss Bland-Hawthorn, Univ. of Sydney (Australia)
Ken C. Freeman, Australian National Univ. (Australia)
Orsola De Marco, Macquaire Univ. (Australia)
Jeff Cooke, Swinburne Univ. of Technology (Australia)
Philip Bland, Curtin Univ. (Australia)
Stuart Ryder, Australian Astronomical Observatory (Australia)
Roberto Soria, Univ. of Chinese Academy of Sciences (China)
Jarek Antoszewski, The Univ. of Western Australia (Australia)
Alexander Heger, Monash Univ. (Australia)
Lee Spitler, Macquaire Univ. (Australia)
Australian Astronomical Observatory (Australia)
Robert Simcoe, MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10700:
Ground-based and Airborne Telescopes VII
Heather K. Marshall; Jason Spyromilio, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?