Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

JWST’s near infrared spectrograph status and first OTIS test results
Author(s): Maurice Te Plate; Stephan Birkmann; Marco Sirianni; Timothy Rawle; Catarina Alves de Oliveira; Torsten Böker; Elena Puga; Nora Lützgendorf; Anthony Marston; Peter Rumler; Peter Jensen; Giovanna Giardino; Pierre Ferruit; Ralf Ehrenwinkler; Peter Mosner; Hermann Karl; Martin Altenburg; Marc Maschmann; Robert Rapp; Corbett Smith; Patrick Ogle; Maria Pena Guerrero; Charles Proffitt; Rai Wu; Graham Kanarek; James Muzerolle
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) is frequently referred to as the follow-on mission to the Hubble Space Telescope (HST). The “Webb”, as it is often called, will be the biggest space telescope ever built and it will lead to astounding scientific breakthroughs. The observatory is currently scheduled for launch in 2020 from Kourou, French Guyana by an ESA provided Ariane 5 rocket. The Observatory houses four scientific instruments. One of them is NIRSpec, the multi-object Near Infrared Spectrograph, built for ESA by Airbus Defence and Space in Germany. After the JWST Optical telescope Element (OTE) integration and testing was completed in early 2016, the Integrated Science Instruments Module (ISIM) was integrated to the OTE in May 2016. The complete system of OTE and ISIM, now called OTIS, then successfully went through an acoustic and vibration test campaign at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (GSFC). After this, the OTIS system was shipped to the Johnson Space Center (JSC) in Houston, TX, where a final 100+ days lasting cryogenic vacuum test was conducted inside the famous Thermal Chamber A. This paper presents NIRSpec’s hardware status and some preliminary test results from the OTIS test campaign.

Paper Details

Date Published: 6 July 2018
PDF: 15 pages
Proc. SPIE 10698, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave, 1069807 (6 July 2018); doi: 10.1117/12.2312651
Show Author Affiliations
Maurice Te Plate, European Space Agency (United States)
Stephan Birkmann, European Space Agency (United States)
Marco Sirianni, European Space Agency (United States)
Timothy Rawle, European Space Agency (United States)
Catarina Alves de Oliveira, European Space Agency (United States)
Torsten Böker, European Space Agency (United States)
Elena Puga, European Space Agency (United States)
Nora Lützgendorf, European Space Agency (United States)
Anthony Marston, European Space Agency (United States)
Peter Rumler, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Peter Jensen, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Giovanna Giardino, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Pierre Ferruit, European Space Agency (Netherlands)
Ralf Ehrenwinkler, Airbus Defence and Space (Germany)
Peter Mosner, Airbus Defence and Space (Germany)
Hermann Karl, Airbus Defence and Space (Germany)
Martin Altenburg, Airbus Defence and Space (Germany)
Marc Maschmann, Airbus Defence and Space (Germany)
Robert Rapp, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Corbett Smith, Orbital ATK (United States)
Patrick Ogle, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Maria Pena Guerrero, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Charles Proffitt, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Rai Wu, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Graham Kanarek, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
James Muzerolle, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 10698:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2018: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave
Makenzie Lystrup; Howard A. MacEwen; Giovanni G. Fazio; Natalie Batalha; Nicholas Siegler; Edward C. Tong, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?